IAAF Area Development

Recognising that the resources and effort involved in developing an educational programme may be beyond capabilities on a national level, the IAAF operates a Coaches Education and Certification System (CECS) which is available as a service to Member Federations that would like to make use of it.

Originally approved by the IAAF Council on 26 November 2015, from January 2016 the CECS features three levels of courses operating in seven languages: English, French, Spanish, Arabic, Chinese, Russian and Portuguese. For each course level the IAAF provides a standard syllabus, qualified lecturers and the necessary learning support materials. Financial resources for the system come from the IAAF and its Area Associations, Olympic Solidarity and other partners on the international and national levels, as well as self-funded options at the higher levels.

Since 2018 the operation of CECS is co-ordinated by the six Area Associations and their respective Area Development Centres under the supervision of the IAAF Development Department. The new three-level CECS structure has been created to specifically address the following areas (see ‘Fig.1’ pdf and ‘Fig 2’ pdf).

Please note: individuals interested in attending a CECS Level I (U16) and CECS Level II (U20) course should contact their Member Federation directly. On the top of the three-level CECS is the IAAF Academy Programme which is organised in cooperation with sport universities.

Further details of the three CECS levels of award

Further details of the Level I – U16 Coach

Further details of the Level II – U20 Coach

Further details of the Level III – 20+ Coach

Transfer from the old system

All coaches who are active will be transferred on the database from their old qualification and eligibility to the new structure and subsequently informed of their new status. The global transfer date is January 1st 2016. ‘Table 2’ pdf illustrates the process of transfer.