News21 Jul 2015

World leaders Fraser-Pryce and Ortega set for Zurich – IAAF Diamond League


Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce wins at the IAAF Diamond League meeting in Zurich (© Jiro Mochizuki)

The Weltklasse Zurich on 3 September will host another star-studded IAAF Diamond League final with 100 international stars having already signed up for the prestigious event.

Co-meeting director Andreas Hediger will leave some spots open until after the IAAF World Championships to ensure the best possible post-Beijing clashes.

The four fastest women in the world over 100m are set to race in Zurich. World and Olympic champion Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce will line up against US champion English Gardner, Commonwealth champion Blessing Okagbare and double world silver medallist Murielle Ahoure.

Also in the field is last year’s Weltklasse winner, Veronica Campbell-Brown, and Swiss record-holder Mujinga Kambundji.

Orlando Ortega won’t get the chance to compete at the World Championships, so the 110m hurdles at the Weltklasse meeting will give the Cuban the opportunity to see how he would have fared against the world’s best in Beijing.

Ortega, who currently leads the world lists with 12.94, will face Olympic champion and world record-holder Aries Merritt, world champion David Oliver, 2014 Diamond Race winner Pascal Martinot-Lagarde and European champion Sergey Shubenkov.

In recent years, the shot put competitions have been held at the Zurich Main Station on the eve of the main competition. This year, it’s the turn of the pole vaulters to take up residence at the unique venue.

World champion Raphael Holzdeppe will face world indoor champion Konstadinos Filippidis, NCAA champion Shawn Barber, 2012 world junior champion Thiago Braz and US champion Sam Kendricks.

Organisers for the IAAF

2015 IAAF Diamond League calendar
Doha, QAT – 15 May
Shanghai, CHN – 17 May
Eugene, USA – 30 May
Rome, ITA – 4 June
Birmingham, GBR – 7 June
Oslo, NOR – 11 June
New York, USA – 13 June
Paris, FRA – 4 July
Lausanne, SUI – 9 July
Monaco, MON – 17 July
London, GBR – 24-25 July
Stockholm, SWE – 30 July
Zurich, SUI – 3 September
Brussels, BEL – 11 September