• World Athletics Partner
  • World Athletics Partner
  • World Athletics Partner
  • World Athletics Partner
  • World Athletics Media Partner
  • World Athletics Supplier
  • World Athletics Supplier
  • World Athletics Partner
  • World Athletics Partner
  • World Athletics Partner
  • World Athletics Partner
  • World Athletics Media Partner
  • World Athletics Supplier
  • World Athletics Supplier

News11 Jul 2017

Hosts Britain names team for IAAF World Championships London 2017

Mo Farah on his way to winning the 5000m at the IAAF World Championships, Beijing 2015

British Athletics has today announced a team of 78 athletes to compete at the IAAF World Championships London 2017 from 4-13 August.

World and Olympic 5000m and 10,000m champion Mo Farah headlines the team as he aims to defend both titles in the Olympic stadium next month. Farah, who has not been defeated in a 5000m or 10,000m race at a major championships since 2011, will be looking to pick up his fourth straight world title in the 5000m and third consecutive title over 10,000m.

Laura Muir will also be looking to achieve double success on the track in London. Muir qualified for the 1500m by winning the Diamond Trophy in that event last season. After recovering from a stress fracture in her foot earlier this year, the double European indoor champion has shown sufficient form and fitness to also claim a place in the 5000m.

Selected in both the heptathlon and high jump, Katarina Johnson-Thompson will be another looking for success in two events. The 24-year-old broke her heptathlon personal best in Gotzis in May and is the British record-holder in the high jump.

Despite currently suffering from an ankle ligament injury, world long jump champion Greg Rutherford has also been named in the squad. With little more than three weeks to go until the start of the championships, British Athletics is backing Rutherford in his race to be fit to compete in the stadium where he won Olympic gold in 2012.

“Obviously this isn't ideal,” said Rutherford. “But I am doing everything to give myself the best chance of success at the World Championships in London.”

Olympic hammer bronze medallist Sophie Hitchon secured her place on the team after winning a fourth successive British title and she will be joined by world finalist Nick Miller.

There is a welcome return to international action for Perri Shakes-Drayton in the 4x400m and Dina Asher-Smith in the 200m and 4x100m. Asher-Smith, who earned Olympic bronze in the 4x100m in 2016 and finished fifth in the 200m at the 2015 World Championships, returned to action earlier this month after suffering fractured a bone in her right foot in February. Shakes-Drayton last represented Great Britain at the 2013 World Championships, where she sustained a knee injury which has kept her out of international competition ever since.

European indoor champion Andrew Pozzi, sprinters CJ Ujah and Zharnel Hughes also make the team in the individual events, with Adam Gemili selected in the 4x100m squad.

“This feels bigger for us than Rio,” said British Athletics performance director Neil Black. “London 2017 is the major global sporting event this year and will be the biggest occasion the country has seen since 2012. We’ve selected some incredibly talented athletes, and in many events there have been some close calls. It’s now up to them to grasp this opportunity and produce performances that will make the whole nation proud.”

A second and final selection meeting will take place on 24 July, where any events with unfilled places will be discussed.

British team for IAAF World Championships London 2017

100m: James Dasaolu, Reece Prescod, CJ Ujah
200m: Zharnel Hughes, Nethaneel Mitchell-Blake, Danny Talbot
400m: Dwayne Cowan, Matt Hudson-Smith, Martyn Rooney
800m: Elliot Giles, Kyle Langford, Guy Learmonth
1500m: Josh Kerr, Chris O’Hare, Jake Wightman
5000m: Andrew Butchart, Mo Farah
10,000m: Mo Farah
3000m steeplechase: Rob Mullett, Zak Seddon
110m hurdles: David King, David Omoregie, Andrew Pozzi
400m hurdles: Jack Green
High jump: Robbie Grabarz
Long jump: Greg Rutherford
Triple jump: Nathan Fox
Hammer: Nick Miller
Decathlon: Ashley Bryant
20km race walk: Tom Bosworth, Callum Wilkinson
50km race walk: Dominic King
Marathon: Andrew Davies, Callum Hawkins, Josh Griffiths
4x100m: Harry Aikines-Aryeetey, Adam Gemili, Zharnel Hughes, Richard Kilty, Nethaneel Mitchell-Blake, Reece Prescod, Danny Talbot, CJ Ujah
4x400m: Cameron Chalmers, Dwayne Cowan, Jack Green, Matt Hudson-Smith, Martyn Rooney, Delano Williams, Rabah Yousif

100m: Desiree Henry, Daryll Neita, Asha Philip
200m: Dina Asher-Smith, Shannon Hylton, Bianca Williams
400m: Zoey Clark, Emily Diamond, Anyika Onuora
800m: Shelayna Oskan-Clarke, Lynsey Sharp, Adelle Tracey
1500m: Jessica Judd, Sarah McDonald, Laura Muir, Laura Weightman
5000m: Eilish McColgan, Laura Muir, Steph Twell
10,000m: Jessica Martin, Beth Potter, Charlotte Taylor
3000m steeplechase: Rosie Clarke
100m hurdles: Tiffany Porter
400m hurdles: Eilidh Doyle
High jump: Katarina Johnson-Thompson, Morgan Lake
Pole vault: Holly Bradshaw
Long jump: Lorraine Ugen
Discus: Jade Lally
Hammer: Sophie Hitchon
Heptathlon: Katarina Johnson-Thompson
20km race walk: Gemma Bridge, Bethan Davies
Marathon: Tracy Barlow, Alyson Dixon, Charlotte Purdue
4x100m: Dina Asher-Smith, Desiree Henry, Corinne Humphreys, Shannon Hylton, Daryll Neita, Asha Philip, Bianca Williams
4x400m: Zoey Clark, Emily Diamond, Eilidh Doyle, Laviai Nielsen, Anyika Onuora, Perri Shakes-Drayton