News28 Jul 2015

Ennis-Hill named in British team for IAAF World Championships, Beijing 2015


Jessica Ennis in the heptathlon 800m at the IAAF World Championships (© Getty Images)

British Athletics today named a team of 63 athletes to compete at the IAAF World Championships, Beijing 2015 from 22-30 August.

Olympic heptathlon champion Jessica Ennis-Hill, who returned to competition in May following the birth of her son Reggie, has accepted selection following impressive performances at last weekend’s IAAF Diamond League meeting in London, where she recorded three season’s bests across two consecutive days.

Ennis-Hill will be joined in the heptathlon by medal rival Katarina Johnson-Thompson, who will also compete in the long jump.

World 5000m and 10,000m champion Mo Farah has confirmed he will aim to defend both titles in the iconic Bird’s Nest stadium next month. Farah, who won the 3000m in London last weekend and finished just 0.12 outside his own European 1500m record in Monaco on 17 July, will be looking to complete a hat-trick of world 5000m titles after taking gold in 2011 and 2013.

Like Farah, 400m runner Christine Ohuruogu will also defend her world title.

Olympic, Commonwealth and European champion Greg Rutherford is targeting an athletics grand slam in China by adding the only missing gold medal to his impressive collection and becoming only the fifth ever British athlete – after Daley Thompson, Sally Gunnell, Linford Christie and Jonathan Edwards – to simultaneously hold all the major titles.

Also selected and displaying superb form after breaking the British records last weekend are Shara Proctor and Dina Asher-Smith. Proctor added three centimetres to the long jump record on Saturday with 6.98m, while Asher-Smith, selected in the 200m, became the first British woman to run faster than 11 seconds for the 100m with a time of 10.99.

Making his British debut in the 200m, Zharnel Hughes showed this past weekend that he is more than at home on the big stage, after clocking a personal best of 20.05 to win the 200m at the Olympic Stadium in London.

Hughes is not the only youngster in the squad as 18-year-old 800m runner Kyle Langford is one of four members from this month’s European Junior Championships squad to make the step up.

“Beijing is a hugely important event to us, yet this is the first of three huge global competitions for us, with the Olympics in Rio next year and the home World Championships in 2017,” said British Athletics Performance Director Neil Black.

“In selecting athletes we were looking at either a potential to finish top eight in this year’s Worlds or to give opportunities to athletes developing towards medal success in 2016 and beyond.

“I’m very confident we have selected a team who can be successful in Beijing, as well as use it as a platform on to further Olympic and world successes.”

British team for Beijing

James Dasaolu, Richard Kilty, Chijindu Ujah
200m: Zharnel Hughes, Daniel Talbot
400m: Jarryd Dunn, Martyn Rooney, Rabah Yousif
800m: Kyle Langford, Michael Rimmer
1500m: Charlie Grice, Chris O’Hare
5000m: Mo Farah, Tom Farrell
10,000m: Mo Farah
110m hurdles: Lawrence Clarke
400m hurdles: Niall Flannery, Jack Green
High jump: Robbie Grabarz
Long jump: Dan Bramble, Greg Rutherford
Pole vault: Steve Lewis
Hammer: Mark Dry, Nick Miller
20km race walk: Tom Bosworth
4x100m: Harry Aikines-Aryeetey, James Ellington, Adam Gemili, Richard Kilty, Danny Talbot, Chijindu Ujah
4x400m: Jarryd Dunn, Jack Green, Nigel Levine, Martyn Rooney, Conrad Williams, Delano Williams, Rabah Yousif

Asha Philip
200m: Margaret Adeoye, Dina Asher-Smith, Bianca Williams
400m: Christine Ohuruogu, Anyika Onuora
800m: Jenny Meadows, Shelayna Oskan-Clarke, Lynsey Sharp
1500m: Laura Muir, Laura Weightman
5000m: Steph Twell
10,000m: Kate Avery
100m hurdles: Cindy Ofili, Tiffany Porter
400m hurdles: Meghan Beesley, Eilidh Child
High jump: Morgan Lake, Isobel Pooley
Long jump: Katarina Johnson-Thompson, Shara Proctor, Lorraine Ugen
Pole vault: Holly Bradshaw
Hammer: Sophie Hitchon
Javelin: Goldie Sayers
Heptathlon: Jessica Ennis-Hill, Katarina Johnson-Thompson
4x100m: Dina Asher-Smith, Louise Bloor, Desiree Henry, Darryll Neita, Asha Philip, Bianca Williams, Jodie Williams
4x400m: Margaret Adeoye, Seren Bundy-Davies, Eilidh Child, Kirsten McAslan, Laviai Nielson, Christine Ohuruogu, Anyika Onuora