News20 Jul 2015

Canada to send 51 athletes to IAAF World Championships, Beijing 2015


Brianne Theisen Eaton in the heptathlon at the IAAF World Championships, Moscow 2013 (© Getty Images)

Athletics Canada has named a team of 51 athletes to compete at the IAAF World Championships, Beijing 2015 from 22-30 August.

“The World Championships are the last major measuring stick as we prepare for the 2016 Olympic Games,” said Peter Eriksson, head coach and chief technical officer. “Our team objectives are clear; improve on our country ranking and the number of medals, top-eight, top-12 and top-16 finishes. Individually we are looking for athletes to place higher than their ranking entering the event.”

The team includes 12 Canadian record-holders and three of the athletes who won individual medals at the 2013 World Championships: heptathlete Brianne Theisen-Eaton, decathlete Damian Warner and high jumper Derek Drouin.

Athletics Canada for the IAAF

Canadian team for Beijing

Aaron Brown, Andre De Grasse, Justyn Warner
200m: Aaron Brown, Brandon Rodney
800m: Brandon McBride
5000m: Mohammed Ahmed, Cam Levins
10,000m: Cam Levins
3000m steeplechase: Alex Genest, Matt Hughes, Taylor Milne
110m hurdles: Jonathan Cabral, Sekou Kaba
High jump: Derek Drouin, Michael Mason
Pole vault: Shawn Barber
Shot put: Tim Nedow
Decathlon: Damian Warner
20km race walk: Evan Dunfee, Inaki Gomez, Benjamin Thorne
50km race walk: Mathieu Bilodeau, Evan Dunfee
4x100m: Aaron Brown, Andre De Grasse, Akeem Haynes, Brandon Rodney, Gavin Smellie, Justyn Warner

Khamica Bingham, Crystal Emmanuel, Kimberly Hyacinthe
200m: Khamica Bingham, Kimberly Hyacinthe
400m: Audrey Jean-Baptiste, Carline Muir
800m: Fiona Benson, Melissa Bishop
5000m: Jessica O’Connell, Nicole Sifuentes
10,000m: Lanni Marchant, Natasha Wodak
3000m steeplechase: Genevieve Lalonde, Erin Teschuk
100m hurdles: Phylicia George, Nikkita Holder
400m hurdles: Sage Watson
Long jump: Christabel Nettey
Hammer: Sultana Frizell
Javelin: Liz Gleadle
Heptathlon: Brianne Theisen-Eaton, Jessica Zelinka
20km race walk: Rachel Seaman
4x100m: Khamica Bingham, Crystal Emmanuel, Isatu Fofanah, Phylicia George, Shaina Harrison, Kimberly Hyacinthe
4x400m: Audrey Jean-Baptiste, Carline Muir, Nicola Sassine, Aiyanna Stiverne, Sage Watson