News18 Jun 2015

Australia selects team for IAAF World Championships, Beijing 2015


Kim Mickle in the women's javelin final at the IAAF World Championships, Moscow 2013 (© Getty Images)

Athletics Australia selectors have declared a selection of 32 athletes bound for the IAAF World Championships, Beijing 2015 in August.

Headlined by javelin thrower Kim Mickle and race walker Jared Tallent, who both won medals at the championships two years ago, the squad also includes Commonwealth champions Eleanor Patterson, Alana Boyd and Dani Samuels, as well as Australian record-holders Melissa Breen and Alex Rowe.

Set to join them are a handful of winners from the recent Australian Championships, including Commonwealth Games finalist Jeff Riseley, 2012 world junior 110m hurdles silver medallist Nicholas Hough, 2010 Youth Olympic Games high jump silver medallist Brandon Starc, two-time NCAA discus champion Julian Wruck, sprinter Ella Nelson and 400m hurdler Lauren Wells.

“The intention of the selection policy is to nominate the most competitive possible team to represent Australia, and following the Nationals this past weekend it is exciting to announce the initial selections for Beijing 2015,” said Dion Russell, the Athletics Australia chairman of selectors.

Any late additions to the team will be considered at the final selectors meeting on 10 August.

The 15th edition of the IAAF World Championships will be held in Beijing on 22-30 August 2015. It will mark the return of international athletics to the Bird’s Nest for the first time since the 2008 Olympic Games.

The Australian team at the 2013 IAAF World Championships in Moscow was 46-strong, and won three medals (two silver, one bronze). Two years earlier in Daegu, the squad placed eighth on the medal table with one gold (Pearson, 100m hurdles), one silver (Mitchell Watt, long jump) and one bronze (Tallent, 50km race walk).

Athletics Australia will prepare for Beijing at a team camp in the Japanese city of Wakayama, with the first contingent of athletes and team staff to arrive in the host city on 19 August.

Athletics Australia for the IAAF

Australian team for Beijing 2015

800m: Jeff Riseley, Alex Rowe
10,000m: Ben St Lawrence
110m hurdles: Nicholas Hough
High jump: Joel Baden, Brandon Starc
Discus: Julian Wruck
Javelin: Hamish Peacock
20km race walk: Chris Erickson, Dane Bird-Smith, Jared Tallent
50km race walk: Chris Erickson, Jared Tallent

100m: Melissa Breen
200m: Ella Nelson
5000m: Eloise Wellings
100m hurdles: Michelle Jennek
400m hurdles: Lauren Wells
3000m steeplechase: Madeline Heiner, Victoria Mitchell
Marathon: Julia Degan, Sinead Diver, Sarah Klein
High jump: Eleanor Patterson
Pole vault: Alana Boyd, Nina Kennedy
Long jump: Brooke Stratton
Discus: Dani Samuels
Javelin: Kim Mickle, Kathryn Mitchell, Kelsey-Lee Roberts
20km race walk: Tanya Holliday, Beki Smith, Rachel Tallent