News03 Nov 2006

Indian 400m Hurdles record broken


Alaguvel Aravind and Poonam Tomar were fastest sprinters with the timings of 10.49 and 11.81 respectively for the men's and womne's 100m at the third day of Indian Inter-State Championships in Chennai, India, today.

Kerala’s Joseph Abraham bettered the national record in the men’s 400m Hurdles clocking 50.22.  He bettered the previous mark of 50.39 set by Patlavath Shankar during the Asian Grand Prix at Bangalore on 22 May, this year. 
The biggest upset came in the men’s Long Jump where the local lad Wayne Peppin had the better of the more fancied Shivshankar Yadav, who had joined the 8m club recently with a mark of 8.01m (Forli, Italy, 1 October 2006). Peppin jumped 7.68m to clinch the title by one centimetre from Yadav (7.67m).  

In women’s 400m, Pinki Pramanik’s golden run continues as she pushed the Asian champion Manjit Kaur to second spot. Pinki clocked a modest 53.06 for the win. In the men’s race Aboo Backer did the same with the favourite Bhupinder Singh. Backer won with 47.21.
V.S. Surekha improved the meet mark to 3.90m in the women's Pole Vault but she failed at the Asian Games qualifying height of 4.10m.
Ram. Murali Krishnan for the IAAF



100m (-0.5):
1. A. Aravind (Tamil Nadu) 10.49; 2. Vishal Saxena (Uttar Pradesh) 10.59; 3. Vilas Nilagund (Karnataka) 10.67;
1. Aboo Backer (Kerala) 47.21; 2. Bhupender Singh (Haryana) 47.42; 3. Harpreet Singh (Punjab) 47.79;
3,000m steeplechase:
1. Bhagwan Diwakar Giri (Uttar Pradesh) 9:02.40; 2. Om Prakash (Madhya Pradesh) 9:08.33; 3. H. Santosh (Karnataka) 9:08.53;
400m Hurdles:
1. Joseph Abraham (Kerala) 50.22 (National Record); 2. Satinder Singh (Punjab) 52.21; 3. Victor Jebasingh (Tamil Nadu) 52.32;
Long Jump:
1. Wayne Peppin (Tamil Nadu) 7.68; 2. Shivshankar Yadav (Uttar Pradesh) 7.67; 3. Mahan Singh (Punjab) 7.62;
Hammer Throw:
1. Nirbhay Singh (Uttar Pradesh) 66.26; 2. Madhu Kumar (Haryana) 60.86; 3. Naresh Choudhary (Delhi) 58.37;
1. Jora Singh (Haryana) 6798; 2. Bhupinder Singh (Punjab) 6553; 3. P.J. Vinod (Kerala) 6474;
100m (0.4):
1. Poonam Tomar (Delhi) 11.81; 2. H.M. Jyothi (Karnataka) 11.97; 3. Deepti Jose (Kerala) 12.03;
1. Pinki Pramanik (West Bengal) 53.06; 2. Manjit Kaur (Punjab) 53.70; 3. Chitra K Soman (Jharkhand) 53.81;
3000m steeplechase:
1. Kiran Tiwari (Uttaranchal) 11:21.62; 2. Chaina Bhattacharjee (West Bengal) 11:45.65; 3. K. Maheswari (Tamil Nadu) 12:00.81;
400m Hurdles:
1. Harani Chandrasekar (Karnataka) 61.05; 2. Pooja Jakhar (Delhi) 61.26; 3. Sapinder Kaur (Punjab) 61.66;
Pole Vault:
1. V.S. Surekha (Tamil Nadu) 3.90; 2. Madhusini Devi (Assam) 3.40; 3. R. Jisha (Kerala) 3.30;
Javelin Throw:
1. Megha Pardeshi (Uttar Pradesh) 49.12; 2. S. Saraswathi (Tamil Nadu) 47.89; 3. Chumki Choudhary (Delhi) 45.11

Pages related to this article