News21 Apr 2015

Olympic champions lead host nation’s team for IAAF/BTC World Relays, Bahamas 2015


Chris Brown hands over to Michael Mathieu at the IAAF World Relays, Bahamas 2014 (© Getty Images)

The four men who struck gold in the 4x400m for The Bahamas at the 2012 Olympics will represent the host nation at the IAAF/BTC World Relays, Bahamas 2015 on 2-3 May.

The Bahamas has named teams in all of the sprint-based relays. Three of the athletes from the triumphant Olympic team – Chris Brown, Ramon Miller and Michael Mathieu – will compete in the 4x400m, while the fourth member, Demetrius Pinder, has been named in the 4x100m and 4x200m.

The women’s team features a mixture of youth and experience. 2001 world 200m champion Debbie Ferguson-McKenzie has been named in the 4x100m team, while two-time world indoor medallist Christine Amertil, now 35, lines up on the 4x400m team alongside 16-year-old D’Nia Freeman. When Ferguson-McKenzie won the world 4x100m title in 1999, Freeman was just a few months old.

Sheniqua Ferguson, Shaunae Miller and Anthonique Strachan, all winners at past editions of the IAAF World Junior Championships, have been named on the 4x200m team.

In Nassau last year, the host nation’s best result came in the men’s 4x400m in which they finished second, just a third of a second behind the USA.

BAAA for the IAAF

Bahamas team for Bahamas 2015

Blake Bartlett, Deneko Brown, Alfred Higgs, Shane Jones, Javan Martin, Demetrius Pinder
4x200m: Andretti Bain, Blake Bartlett, Deneko Brown, Alfred Higgs, Javan Martin, Demetrius Pinder
4x400m: Chris Brown, Steven Gardiner, Michael Mathieu, Ramon Miller, Alonzo Russell, LaToy Williams

Brianne Bethel, Krystal Bodie, Adanaca Brown, Tylar Carter, Debbie Ferguson-McKenzie, V’Alonne Robinson
4x200m: Brianne Bethel, Adanaca Brown, Lanece Clarke, Sheniqua Ferguson, Shaunae Miller, Anthonique Strachan
4x400m: Christine Amertil, Lanece Clarke, Shaquania Dorsett, Bianca Farrington, D’Nia Freeman, Katrina Seymour