Report24 Jan 2015

Kamworor wins third consecutive Police cross-country title


Geoffrey Kamworor on his way to victory at the Kenya Police Cross Country Championships (© David Ogeka / Photorun)

World half-marathon champion Geoffrey Kamworor showed impressive form as he won at the Kenya Police Service Cross Country Championships for the third consecutive year in Nairobi on Saturday (24).

The 2011 world junior cross-country champion unleashed a turn speed in the penultimate lap that no one else in the talented field could respond to and romped home in 37:24 for the 12km race at the Ngong Race Course.

“My aim is to make the national team so that I can win the senior world cross title, that is my first target of the year,” said Kamworor.

Behind him, Matthew Kisorio came home 10 seconds in arrears for second place while new Police recruit and African junior cross-country champion Moses Mukono was third in 37:40, just edging out the well-known Augustine Choge who was given the same time.

In the women’s 8km race, Stacy Ndiwa prevailed over African cross-country champion Janet Kisa after a sprint over the final 200 metres, the pair timed at 28:32 and 28:33 respectively.

The experienced Vivian Cheruiyot, with several major championship titles to her name, who is slowly returning to top form after becoming a mother, completed the podium when she finished third in 28:37.

The Kenya Prisons meeting at the nearby Uhuru Gardens was headlined by victories for Philip Langat and Cynthia Cherotich.

Cherotich held on to her Prisons women’s long race crown in 27:01, winning the 8km race in dominant fashion, unchallenged from the middle of the race to the tape.

Nancy Nzisa finished second in 27:43 with Viola Chepchumba third in 27:51.

The men’s 12km contest saw Langat continuing his strong showing in domestic races – following his triumphs at the Nyahururu and Machakos legs of the local AK National Cross Country Series earlier in the winter – by winning in 35:47 with Vincent Rono second in 36:02 and Cornelius Kangogo third 36:08.

Mutwiri Mutuota (Capital FM) for the IAAF