Press Release22 Nov 2020

Nominees announced for Female World Athlete of the Year 2018


IAAF Athletics Awards 2018 (© IAAF)

This week marks the opening of the voting process for the 2018 World Athletes of the Year ahead of the IAAF Athletics Awards 2018 in Monaco on Tuesday 4 December.

The IAAF is pleased to confirm a list of 10 nominees for Female World Athlete of the Year who were selected by an international panel of athletics experts, comprising representatives from all six continental areas of the IAAF.

The nominees for 2018 Female World Athlete of the Year are:

Dina Asher-Smith (GBR)
- European champion and world leader at 100m, 200m and 4x100m
- Second over 100m in the IAAF Diamond League final and IAAF Continental Cup
- Commonwealth Games 4x100m gold and 200m bronze

Beatrice Chepkoech (KEN)
- World steeplechase record by eight seconds, backed up by the third-quickest mark of all time
- Winner of seven out of eight steeplechase finals including the IAAF Continental Cup, African Championships and IAAF Diamond League final
- Commonwealth Games silver at 1500m

Sifan Hassan (NED)
- World lead at one mile and 3000m, the latter set when winning at the IAAF Continental Cup
- European champion at 5000m
- European records at 5000m and half marathon
- World indoor medals at 1500m and 3000m

Caterine Ibarguen (COL)
- IAAF Continental Cup winner, IAAF Diamond League champion and Central American and Caribbean champion at both long and triple jumps
- World lead and unbeaten in eight finals at triple jump

Mariya Lasitskene (ANA)
- Winner of 25 out of 26 contests at high jump, including the World Indoor Championships, European Championships, IAAF Diamond League final and IAAF Continental Cup
- World leads both indoors and out

Shaunae Miller-Uibo (BAH)
- Unbeaten across five events in 15 races (13 finals and 2 preliminaries), including a 200m/4x100m double at the IAAF Continental Cup
- World lead and three wins at 400m with the world’s fastest time since 2009
- Commonwealth Games and IAAF Diamond League champion at 200m
- World bests at indoor 300m and 150m straight

Sandra Perkovic (CRO)
- Winner of 11 out of 13 discus contests, including the European title for a record fifth time
- Had the seven longest throws of the year

Caster Semenya (RSA)
- Unbeaten in her nine 800m finals including the Commonwealth Games, African Championships, IAAF Diamond League final and IAAF Continental Cup
- Commonwealth champion at 1500m and African champion at 400m
- World leads at 800m and 1000m

Nafissatou Thiam (BEL)
- European champion, world lead and unbeaten at heptathlon
- World number three at high jump

Anita Wlodarczyk (POL)
- European hammer champion
- IAAF Hammer Throw Challenge winner
- World leader


A three-way voting process will determine the finalists.

The IAAF Council and the IAAF Family will cast their votes by email, while fans can vote online via the IAAF's social media platforms. Individual graphics for each nominee will be posted on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram this week; a 'like' on Facebook and Instagram or a retweet on Twitter will count as one vote. 

The IAAF Council’s vote will count for 50% of the result, while the IAAF Family’s votes and the public votes will each count for 25% of the final result.

Voting for the Female World Athlete of the Year closes on 12 November. At the conclusion of the voting process, five men and five women finalists will be announced by the IAAF.

The male and female World Athletes of the Year will be announced live on stage at the IAAF Athletics Awards 2018.

The male nominees will be announced tomorrow, Tuesday 23 October.


Pages related to this article