Press Release31 Oct 2018

Disciplines confirmed for 2019 IAAF Diamond League


Diamond trophies (© Getty Images)

Updated 13 Feb 2019

The IAAF Diamond League has announced the distribution of diamond disciplines for the 2019 season.

Diamond disciplines per meeting (PDF)
Meetings for each diamond discipline (PDF)
Road to the final infographic - men (PDF)
Road to the final infographic - women (PDF)

The 10th season of the series, which will once again commence in Doha, Qatar on 3 May, the city that will host the IAAF World Championships in September, is comprised of the 14 best track and field invitational meetings in the world.

The meetings form the top tier of the IAAF’s global one-day meeting competition structure and are spread across Asia, Europe, Africa and North America with US$8 million in prize money on offer across the series.

The series showcases 32 event disciplines which are distributed among the 14 meetings. Athletes earn points in the first 12 meetings to qualify for the finals where, as in a championship, the performance of athletes in the final alone will determine who the champion will be and the prize money won.

At the two final meetings, held in Zurich on Thursday 29 August and Brussels on Friday 6 September, $100,000 will be at stake in each of the 32 Diamond disciplines, including $50,000 for each winner plus the coveted Diamond Trophy.

2019 IAAF Diamond League calendar
3 May - Doha, QAT
18 May - Shanghai, CHN
30 May - Stockholm, SWE
6 Jun - Rome, ITA
13 Jun - Oslo, NOR
16 Jun - Rabat, MAR
30 Jun - Stanford, USA
5 Jul - Lausanne, SUI
12 Jul - Monaco, MON
20-21 Jul - London, GBR
18 Aug - Birmingham, GBR
24 Aug - Paris, FRA
29 Aug - Zurich, SUI
6 Sep - Brussels, BEL