Press Release07 Oct 2019

Shortlist announced for International Fair Play Award


Moments of fair play from the IAAF World Athletics Championships Doha 2019 (┬ę Getty Images)

Following the conclusion of the IAAF World Athletics Championships Doha 2019, four moments have been shortlisted for the International Fair Play award.

Members of the International Fair Play Committee (CIFP) and the IAAF formed a jury to decide on the shortlist. This week fans can cast their votes for the shortlisted moment that they feel best exemplifies fair play. These votes will be combined with the votes from the jury to determine three finalists for the Fair Play Award. The winner will be revealed at the IAAF Athletics Awards in Monaco on 23 November.


1 Armand Duplantis, Piotr Lisek and Sam Kendricks
The pole vault medallists showed great camaraderie and respect for one another throughout the competition and during their celebrations.

2 Sandi Morris

Despite missing out on the gold medal, the first thing the US pole vaulter did was congratulate the winner, Anzhelika Sidorova, showing genuine delight in her success.

3 Dina Asher-Smith

In two separate races during the championships, the British sprinter went back to help injured competitors.

4 Braima Suncar Dabo

On the final lap of his 5000m heat, the runner from Guinea Bissau helped carry fellow runner Jonathan Busby to the finish line when he was on the brink of collapsing.

To vote, head to the respective posts on twitter and retweet your favourite moment.

The CIFP was established more than 50 years ago to promote the principles of fair play in sport – fair competition, respect, friendship, team spirit, equality and sport without doping. It honours those who respect the written and unwritten rules of sport, which include integrity, solidarity, tolerance, care, excellence and joy, and who set an example for others, on and off the field.

At the IAAF World Championships alone, eight awards have been handed out since 2003. Spanish high jumper Ruth Beitia, who consoled Italy’s Alessia Trost after she failed to qualify for the high jump final at the 2017 IAAF World Championships at the end of a difficult year, was the latest recipient of an award.