News06 Aug 2012

Weldemariam and Reiner prevail in Harakiri Mountain Race


The men's podium in Mayrhofen (© Organisers)

Mayrhofen, AustriaAzarya Weldemariam from Eritrea and Austrian Sabine Reiner won the fourth edition of the Harakiri Mountain Race in Mayrhofen on 5 August.

270 athletes from more than 20 nations travelled to Mayrhofen to take on the challenge in wonderful weather conditions. The runners battled it out to the finishing line over a distance of 10.4 km and 1170m in altitude. Weldemariam, last year’s winner in the men’s race, retained his crown with a time of 52:02.30.

Reiner won the women’s division with a time of 1:01:20.60. The Harakiri Mountain Race is part of the International Austrian Mountain Running Cup, a tour stop of the WMRA Grand Prix and Salomon Running Tour.

For the first time this year, Mayrhofen was also host to the Tyrolean Championships with a designated race route for junior athletes. Simon Lechleitner (55:07.1) and Susanne Mair (1:07:38.4) claimed the victories.

Top athletes such as Markus Kröll, Gerrit Glomser, Jonathan Wyatt, ski jump legend Andreas Goldberger, Antonella Confortola and Emma Clayton returned again this year to the popular sporting region of Mayrhofen in Zillertal.

Amateur athletes were given the opportunity to test their sporting prowess against the crème de la crème of the mountain sports scene.

Reason enough for many amateur athletes to test their mettle on the mountain the hard way. Pain and torment are guaranteed. Kröll, who was running his final short distance mountain race, was overcome by the – as he called it – "goose bump" atmosphere. Both he and Goldberger enjoyed the cheers at the finishing line and performed a lap of honour in the finishing area.

The men’s course record of exactly 50 minutes remains firmly in the hands Weldemarian.

Organisers for the IAAF