News20 Sep 2010

Fast ten mile runs for Kibet and Mwangangi in Zaandam


John Mwangangi sizzles to a 45:26 ten-miler in Zandaam (© organisers)

Dutchwoman Hilda Kibet clocked the fastest 10-mile performance of the year with her 51:30 victory at the 26th edition of Dam tot Dam loop from Amsterdam to Zaandam, The Netherlands, on Sunday (19).

The men's race was won by 19-year-old Kenyan John Mwangangi, who outsprinted 2009 winner Moses Masai by one second in 45:26. Mwangangi's performance was the second fastest of the year.

After the gun sounded in Amsterdam, the race quickly became a family affair in the women's race, which started 5:46 minutes earlier than the men's race to create a confrontation between the sexes in the closing stages. Lornah Kiplaget, an aunt to Hilda Kibet, took the early lead along with Ethiopian Mestewat Tufa. The three went out fast with the experienced Kiplagat, who last Sunday took the Dutch 10Km title in Tilburg, forcing the pace. The trio passed the 10 kilometres marker in 31:35 but by that point Tufa was already running behind the leaders, losing contact. Kibet was now pressing and Kiplagat eventually lost contact as well.

Running in light rain and 17 C temperatures, Kibet forged on but was not able to fight off the chasing men. Tufa was the first of the leading women to be taken over, with Kiplagat next to fall. And finally, with thousands of spectators lining the streets in Zaandam, Kibet had to bow, losing her shot at a 5000 EUR bonus. Nonetheless, Kibet's time was the fastest of the year bettering the 51:51 by Lineth Chepkurui at the tn-miler in Washington DC on 11 April.

In the men's race, there was a lead group of eight African runners, led by Kenyan Jonathan Maiyo who brought them through the first five kilometres in 14:12. As the pace remained swift, the leading group finally broke. Maiyo, Masai, Ayele Abshiro and Mwangangi passed the ten kilometre mark in 28:16.

The four stayed together, eventually overtaking the leading women. Reaching the streets of Zaandam, Masai and Mwangangi were seconds ahead before the young Mwangangi outsprinted the defending champion to take the victory. His winning time of 45:26 was just three seconds shy of the this season's world leading 45:23 set by Kenyan Shadrack Kipchirchir in Schortens, Germany, on 21 August.

Wim van Hemert for the IAAF

Leading results -

 1. John Mwangangi, KEN         45:26
 2. Moses Masai, KEN            45:27
 3. Ayele Abshiro, ETH          45:33
 4. Jonathan Maiyo, KEN         45:33 [correct]
 5. Nicolas Kiprono, UGA        46:29
 6. Tariku Bekele, ETH          46:44
 7. Abebe Dinkesa, ETH          47:26
 8. Allan Noliwa, KEN           47:27
 9. Abdelhadi bel Hachimi, MAR  47:46
10. Koen Raymaekers, NED        47:51
11. Patrick Stitzinger, NED     48:08
12. Jamal Baligha, MAR          48.39     
 1. Hilda Kibet, NED           51:30
 2. Lornah Kiplagat, NED       52:03
 3. Mestewat Tufa, ETH         52:43
 4. Aniko Kalovics, HUN        53:42
 5. Salina Kosgei, KEN         53.51
 6. Pauline Wangui, KEN        54:07
 7. Gatheru Wanjiru, KEN       54:09
 8. Pauline Wambui, KEN        54:37
 9. Ferhiwot Gosku, ETH        54:46  
10. Karolina Jarzinska, POL    54:56
11. Helah Kiprop, KEN          55:08
12. Merel de Knegt, NED        56:02
Pages related to this article