News25 Jul 2023

Defending champions Kipruto and Chepngetich to face strong fields in Chicago


Benson Kipruto wins the Chicago Marathon (© AFP / Getty Images)

Organisers of the Bank of America Chicago Marathon have announced the full elite field for the World Athletics Elite Platinum Label road race on 8 October.

A regular podium finisher in major marathons over the past two years, Benson Kipruto of Kenya will defend his title in the men’s race. Kipruto won last year in 2:04:24, the fourth fastest time ever in Chicago.

Fellow Kenyan Kelvin Kiptum – the second-fastest man in history – will make his US marathon debut in Chicago. Kiptum won this year’s London Marathon, only his second marathon ever, in 2:01:25, just 16 seconds shy of the world record.

Ethiopia’s Seifu Tura – winner in Chicago in 2021 and runner-up last year – will return for the third consecutive year, looking for another podium finish. Belgium’s world and Olympic bronze medallist Bashir Abdi – winner of this year’s Rotterdam Marathon – is also in the line-up.

Conner Mantz and Galen Rupp lead the US elite entries. Mantz will be chasing the Olympic qualifying standard of 2:08:10, just six seconds faster than his finishing time last year. Rupp, the 2017 Chicago Marathon champion and 2021 runner-up, is the second fastest US marathon runner of all time.

Ethiopia’s Dawit Wolde, Brazil’s Daniel Do Nascimento and Kenya’s John Korir are among the other notable entries.

As announced last month, defending champion Ruth Chepngetich will take on London Marathon champion Sifan Hassan and US record-holder Emily Sisson in the women’s race. But that trio is just the tip of the iceberg.

Joyciline Jepkosgei, winner of the 2021 London Marathon and 2019 New York City Marathon, will make her Chicago debut, as will Genzebe Dibaba of Ethiopia. Dibaba – who has broken several world records on the track, indoors and out – made her marathon debut in Amsterdam last year, clocking 2:18:05.

The US contingency also features Olympic bronze medallist Molly Seidel, 2018 Boston Marathon champion Des Linden, 2021 Chicago runner-up Emma Bates, and Aliphine Tuliamuk, winner of the 2020 US Olympic Trials.

Other notable competitors in the women’s field include Ethiopia’s Ababel Yesheneh and US duo Nell Rojas, Sara Vaughn.

Elite field

Ruth Chepngetich (KEN) 2:14:18
Joyciline Jepkosgei (KEN) 2:17:43
Genzebe Dibaba (ETH) 2:18:05
Sutume Kebede (ETH) 2:18:12
Emily Sisson (USA) 2:18:29
Sifan Hassan (NED) 2:18:33
Tigist Girma (ETH) 2:18:52
Ababel Yeshaneh (ETH) 2:20:51
Des Linden (USA) 2:22:38
Emma Bates (USA) 2:23:18
Aliphine Tuliamuk (USA) 2:24:37
Nell Rojas (USA) 2:24:51
Molly Seidel (USA) 2:24:42
Dakotah Lindwurm (USA) 2:25:01
Sara Vaughn (USA) 2:26:23
Gabriella Rooker (USA) 2:27:38
Diane Nukuri (USA) 2:27:50
Maggie Montoya (USA) 2:28:07
Stacy Ndiwa (KEN) 2:31:53

Kelvin Kiptum (KEN) 2:01:25
Bashir Abdi (BEL) 2:03:36
Benson Kipruto (KEN) 2:04:24
Dawit Wolde (ETH) 2:04:27
Seifu Tura (ETH) 2:04:29
Daniel Do Nascimento (BRA) 2:04:51
John Korir (KEN) 2:05:01
Galen Rupp (USA) 2:06:07
Huseydin Mohamed (ETH) 2:05:05
Milkesa Mengesha (ETH) 2:05:29
Conner Mantz (USA) 2:08:16
Yuki Matsumura (JPN) 2:09:01
Takashi Ichida (JPN) 2:09:15
Kei Katanishi (JPN) 2:09:27
Masashi Nonaka (JPN) 2:09:47
Matt McDonald (USA) 2:09:49
Mick Iacofano (USA) 2:09:55
Daniel Mateiko (KEN) debut
Wesley Kiptoo (KEN) debut