Report19 Mar 2017

Yego and Bayartsogt take New Taipei City marathon wins


Hilary Kipkosgei Yego winning the New Taipei City Wan Jin Shi Marathon (© CKPC & RunningBiji /photographer Tang, Fu-Yo & Chang, Chih-Yao)

Hilary Kipkosgei Yego of Kenya and Munkhzaya Bayartsogt of Mongolia were the victors at the New Taipei City Wan Jin Shi Marathon, an IAAF Bronze Label Road Race, on Sunday (19).

The 30-year-old Yego, whose CV includes a victory at the 2013 Athens Marathon, took the men's race in 2:17:02 while the unheralded Bayartsogt, a 2016 Olympian, took the women's title in 2:38:08.

"Compared with other city marathons in general, the hills and the wind off the sea here are quite challenging," said Yego, who arrived with a 2:11:54 lifetime best, set at the 2014 Marrakech Marathon.

In the men's contest, Tsegaye Debele Belda of Ethiopia was just a few steps behind in second clocking 2:17:04. Samson Kipchirchir Keiyo of Kenya rounded out the podium in 2:17:15.

Bayartsogt, who holds the Mongolian national records for 5000m and 10,000m on the track at 16:11.10 and 33:31.11 and in the marathon with 2:33:36, upped the pace after 35 kilometres en route to her first marathon win outside of her home country.

Tseha Gebre Getiso of Ethiopia, who arrived with 2:30 credentials, was second in 2:31:21. Her compatriot Ayele Belachew was a distant third, clocking 2:29:07.

More than 12,000 runners participated in the race's 15th edition.

Bob Ramsak and organisers for the IAAF