Report28 Oct 2012

Kiyeng prevails in Chuncheon


David Kemboi Kiyeng in Chuncheon (© Chuncheon Organisers)

28 October 2012 - David Kemboi Kiyeng from Kenya won the Chosunilbo Chuncheon International Marathon on Sunday (28), clocking 2:10:05. His compatriot Nickson Kurgat was second at this IAAF Gold Label Road Race in 2:10:39. The course record of 2:07:03 set in 2011 by their countryman Stanley Biwott remained unbeaten.

More than 19,500 runners from 32 countries, including almost 300 foreigners took off from the start line of the race’s 66th edition at 9 a.m. on a nice sunny morning with 14 C at the start and followed the course circling scenic neighborhoods, a large lake and autumn-coloured woods. The weather remained nice and sunny throughout the race, with the temperature reaching 17 C by 11 a.m.

For the men’s race, organisers attracted a field of 77 elite runners, including 20 foreigners from Kenya, Ethiopia, Zimbabwe, Russia, Moldova and Uganda. The women’s race, with a domestic elite field only, was won by You-Jin Park in 2:41:55, well off the course record of 2:26:12 set by Korean Eunju Kwon in 1997.

Men's Race –

The pack of 11 runners took off from the start and passed through first five kilometres in 15:10. Among the leaders were nine Kenyans including Kiyeng , 28, with a PB 2:06:26 from the 2009 Paris Marathon; Kurgat, 24 whose 2:08:43 PB came at this year's Milan Marathon; Nelson Kirva Rotich, 31 with PB 2:10:13 from 2009 Chuncheon Marathon; George Kiprop Ngetich, 28 (PB 2:12:19 Hong Kong Marathon 2012), Jonathan Kosgey Kipkorir, 29 (PB of 2:07:31 in 2009 Paris Marathon); Marius Kipserem, 24 (PB 2:13:02 Brescia Marathon 2012) and three pace-makers - Paul Kipkorir Kipkemoi, Ben Kiplimo Mutai and Kiprop Mutai. Ethiopian Negari Terfa, with a 2:07:41 PB from Berlin Marathon and Zimbabwe’s Cutbert Nyasango, 30, who clocked his 2:12:08 PB when finishing seventh at the London Olympics, were also among the group.

Over the next 5 km stretch the pace increased and the pack was reduced to nine passing through the 10km marker in 30:12, with Kenyans Rotich and Ngetich dropping back. The pack with Kiyeng in charge passed the 15Km mark in 45:15, dropping Kipkorir and thinning to eight.

By the 20th kilometre (1:00:28) the pace continued to slow, however pace-maker Mutai began to lag and eventually fell from the pack reducing it to seven. The same seven passed 25km in 1:15:44; five kilometres (1:31:14) later Kiperem was dropped. The remaining four in the lead pack continued to the 35 km point (1:47:05) having lost speed and pace-maker Paul Kipkemoi.

Kiyeng made a bold surge over the next 5Km stretch, covering it in 15:45, six seconds faster than the previous. He staked his claims of the biggest piece of the purse and broke up the pack passing through 40 km in 2:02:50. Kiyeng maintained his lead through the finish crossing in 2:10:05 and collecting $US 50,000 for the victory. He left his countryman Kurgat almost 200 metres behind and Ethiopian Negari Terfa more than 500 metres behind, who took home $20,000 and $10,000 for their second and third place finishes, respectively.

Women’s race-

The race included four Korean elites: 21-year-old debutant Park Yu-Jin; Lee Sook-Jung with a 2:34:01 PB from last year's Seoul International Marathon; Jang Eun-Young, a 2:38:18 marathoner; and experienced Kim Sun-Ae, 34, with sub-2:38 credentials. They passed through the first 5 km mark in 18:58. By 10km the pack was reduced to two – Park and Lee - who ran together through the 20 km point which they passed in 1:14:07. By the 25 kilometre marker Park remained in charge alone and went on to win in 2:41:55, more than a minute clear of Kim Sun-Ae (2:42:57).

More than 5800 runners took part in 10Km race as well.

Yelena Kurdyumova and Sergey Porada for the IAAF

Leading Results:


1. David Kemboi Kiyeng, KEN 2:10:05

2. Nickson Kurgat KEN 2:10:39

3. Negari Terfa, ETH 2:11:45

4. Ben Kiplimo Mutai, KEN 2:12:38

5. Marius Kipserem, KEN 2:13:49

6. Paul Kipkorir Kipkemoi, KEN 2:14:50


1. Park Yu-Jin, KOR 2:41:55

2. Kim Sun-Ae, KOR 2:42:57

3. Lee Sook-Jung, KOR 2:49:27

4. Jang Eun-Young, KOR 2:51:24

Pages related to this article