Press Release25 Aug 2023

New Athletes' Commission members announced


World Athletics Athletes' Commission

World Athletics is pleased to announce the results of the Athletes' Commission elections, which took place during the World Athletics Championships Budapest 23.

The six newly elected or re-elected members of the 2023-2027 Athletes’ Commission are:

Dame Valerie Adams Dame Valerie Adams 

New Zealand

Renaud LavillenieRenaud Lavillenie 


Aisha Praught-LeerAisha Praught-Leer


Diego Garcia Carrera Diego Garcia Carrera 


Jasmine ToddJasmine Todd 

United States of America

Adam GemiliAdam Gemili 

Great Britain & Northern Ireland


Athletes elected in 2022:

• Ivet Lalova-Collio (BUL)
• Anna Ryzhykova (UKR)
• Lea Sprunger (SUI)
• Lisanne de Witte (NED)
• Matthew Hughes (CAN)
• Toshikazu Yamanishi (JPN)

Outgoing members:

• Kevin Borlee (BEL)
• Milcah Chemos Cheywa (KEN)
• Majd Eddin Ghazal (SYR)
• Bernard Lagat (USA)
• Halimah Nakaayi (UGA)
• Olga Rypakova (KAZ)
• Akani Simbine (RSA)
• Su Bingtian (CHN)
• Marie-Josee Ta Lou (CIV)

All athletes accredited for the World Athletics Championships Budapest 23 had the right to vote in this year’s elections.

To be eligible for election, athletes needed to have competed in at least one of the past two editions of the World Athletics Championships, or in the most recent Olympic Games, or be a competitor at this year’s World Athletics Championships.

This year’s elections introduced a new method of voting. For the first time, voting was done electronically, on portable voting devices, rather than via paper ballots. This transition to electronic voting is in line with World Athletics’ commitment to sustainability, and was introduced to enable a more efficient polling and counting process.

Six additional Athletes' Commission members will be appointed by the World Athletics Council over the course of the next month to bring the number back to its intended 18.

The Chair and Deputy Chair positions will be voted on by the Athletes’ Commission once the membership is finalised.

Since 2019, the Chairperson and one other member of the Athletes’ Commission – one woman and one man – have been full voting members of the World Athletics Council.

World Athletics