News11 Jul 2016

Canada selects 65 athletes for Rio Olympics


Brianne Theisen-Eaton in the heptathlon javelin at the London 2012 Olympic Games (© Getty Images)

On Monday (11), the Canadian Olympic Committee (COC) and Athletics Canada named the 65 athletes nominated to represent Canada in athletics at the Rio 2016 Olympic Games from 5-21 August.

The team includes world indoor pentathlon champion Brianne Theisen-Eaton, world pole vault champion Shawn Barber, world high jump champion Derek Drouin, world 800m silver medallist Melissa Bishop, world decathlon silver medallist Damian Warner, world 100m bronze medallist Andre De Grasse, and world 20km race walk bronze medallist Ben Thorne.

The athletes earned their spots at the Canadian Championships and Selection Trials which took place from 7-10 July in Edmonton.

“This is the strongest and most well-rounded team I have ever been a part of,” said Theisen-Eaton. “The team counts multiple world medallists and a talented roster who will challenge for the podium on the track, and in the field. My teammates and I are ready to compete for Canada in Rio.”

“Following a very competitive Trials in Edmonton, we have nominated a versatile and focused group of athletes who will be ready to perform on-demand in Rio,” said Athletics Canada head coach Peter Eriksson. “The team is comprised of veterans who have already experienced international success, and up-and-coming athletes who are ready to take the next step.”

Athletics Canada for the IAAF

Canadian team for Rio

100m: Aaron Brown, Andre De Grasse, Akeem Haynes
200m: Aaron Brown, Andre De Grasse, Brendon Rodney
800m: Brandon McBride, Anthony Romaniw
1500m: Nathan Brannen, Charles Philibert-Thiboutot
5000m: Mohammed Ahmed, Lucas Bruchet
10,000m: Mohammed Ahmed
Marathon: Reid Coolsaet, Eric Gillis
3000m steeplechase: Matthew Hughes, Taylor Milne, Chris Winter
110m hurdles: Johnathan Cabral, Sekou Kaba
High jump: Derek Drouin, Mike Mason
Pole vault: Shawn Barber
Shot put: Tim Nedow
Decathlon: Damian Warner
20km race walk: Evan Dunfee, Inaki Gomez, Ben Thorne
50km race walk: Mathieu Bilodeau, Evan Dunfee
4x100m: Mobolade Ajomale, Aaron Brown, Andre De Grasse, Akeem Haynes, Oluwasegun Makinde, Brendon Rodney

100m: Crystal Emmanuel
200m: Crystal Emmanuel, Kimberly Hyacinthe
400m: Alicia Brown, Kendra Clarke, Carline Muir
800m: Melissa Bishop
1500m: Nicole Sifuentes, Gabriela Stafford, Hilary Stellingwerff
5000m: Jessica O'Connell, Andrea Seccafien
10,000m: Lanni Marchant, Natasha Wodak
Marathon: Krista DuChene, Lanni Marchant
3000m steeplechase: Maria Bernard, Genevieve Lalonde, Erin Teschuk
100m hurdles: Phylicia George, Nikkita Holder, Angela Whyte
400m hurdles: Chanice Chase, Noelle Montcalm, Sage Watson
High jump: Alyxandria Treasure
Pole vault: Kelsie Ahbe, Annika Newell, Alysha Newman
Long jump: Christabel Nettey
Shot put: Brittany Crew, Taryn Suttie
Hammer: Heather Steacy
Javelin: Elizabeth Gleadle
Heptathlon: Brianne Theisen-Eaton
4x100m: Khamica Bingham, Crystal Emmanuel, Phylicia George, Kimberly Hyacinthe, Farah Jacques, Marissa Kurtimah
4x400m: Alicia Brown, Chanice Chase, Kendra Clarke, Carline Muir, Micha Powell, Sage Watson