News20 Sep 2009

Masai siblings win fast 25th ‘Dam tot Dam’ 10 Miles


Linet Masai wins the 2009 Dam tot Dam 10 Miles (© Tom Metiary)

The 25th edition of the ‘Dam tot Dam’ 10 Miles today was a brother and sister act by Moses Masai and Linet Masai.

Moses Masai, World 10,000m bronze medallist in Berlin won the men’s race in a sprint finish with Kenyan compatriot Charles Kamathi both clocking 45:16, the fastest time of the year. Linet Masai, the women’s World 10,000m champion in Berlin also clocked the fastest time of the year with 50:38. Dutch woman Hilda Kibet was a distant second in 51:21.

Linet Masai scored another victory too. Starting 5:46 minutes ahead of the men in Amsterdam she succeeded in staying ahead of her brother in the race to the Dam in Zaandam, finishing 23 seconds ahead.

Chasing the women the men got off to a rather fast start with a first five kilometres of 14.07. At 10kms passed in 28:07 there were four leaders: Masai, Kamathi and Getu Feleke (Eth) and Kenyan Micah Kogo, the World 10 kilometres record holder on the road (27:01; 29 March 2009 in Brunssum, The Netherlands).

Between the 10 and 15 kms markers the race boiled down to just two contenders for the victory: Masai and Kamathi, who passed 15 kms in 42.19 staying together to the blistering, finish sprint. Third place went to Getu Feleke of Ethiopia in 45:29. Kogo finished fourth in 45:41.

Linet Masai was in a class of her own in the women’s race finishing  over half a minute ahead of Dutchwoman Hilda Kibet. (50:39- 51:21).

In the first five kilometres (15:39), Masai was together with Kibet, Peninah Arusei (Ken) and Belaynesh Fikadu (Eth). Masai pressed the pace after that and passed the 10 kms mark in 31:33, five seconds ahead of Arusei and twelve in front of Kibet and Fikadu.

However Fikadu faded and 15 kms was passed in 47:21 by Masai with Kibet and Arusei 36 seconds back. While Masai was a comfortable winner, Kibet only lost second place to Arusei in the final stages.

Wim van Hemert for the IAAF

25th Dam to Dam 10 EM Zaandam
Sunday 20 September

1. Moses Masai KEN 45:16 fastest time of the year
2. Charles Kamathi KEN 45:16 correct
3. Getu Feleke ETH 45:29
4. Micah Kogo KEN 45:41
5. Teklemariam Medhin ETH 47:11
6. Francis Kibiwott KEN 47:15
7. Mourad Marofit MAR 47:33
8. Cosmas Kigen KEN 47:39

1. Linet Masai KEN 50:39 fastest time of the year
2. Hilda Kibet  NED 51:21
3. Peninah Arusei KEN 51:26
4. Belaynesh Fikadu ETH 51:40
5. Grace Momanyi KEN 51:51
6. Bizunesh Urgessa ETH 52:59
7. Ines Monteiro POR 53:07
8. Ana Dias POR 54:53             


Pages related to this article