News29 Jun 2021

Great Britain & NI announces team for Tokyo Olympics


Dina Asher-Smith in action at the Olympic Games in Rio (© AFP / Getty Images)

Updated: 10 July 2021

Sixty-five athletes have been nominated for selection to represent Great Britain & Northern Ireland at the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games next month.

The team announced today join the seven athletes selected following the marathon and 20km race walk trial in April, making an overall squad of 72.

World 200m champion Dina Asher-Smith has been nominated for the women’s 100m, 200m and 4x100m as she goes for a tilt at a trio of medals in Tokyo.

Fellow world champion Katarina Johnson-Thompson has been named in the heptathlon for what will be her third Olympics, subject to demonstrating fitness ahead of Tokyo.

Holly Bradshaw also makes her third Olympic team, having improved her own nine-year-old British pole vault record last weekend. Her vault of 4.90m moves her up to ninth on the world all-time list.

After producing one of the standout performances of the British Championships last weekend, 19-year-old Keely Hodgkinson, the European indoor 800m champion, guaranteed her place on the team for Japan. Multiple global medallist Laura Muir joins her in the 800m and will double-up over the 1500m.

One of the closest contests at the Trials in Manchester came in the men’s 800m, and the top three have all been selected for Tokyo: Elliot Giles, Oliver Dustin and Daniel Rowden.

Lawrence Okoye makes a successful return to the team, having reached the men’s discus final in London in 2012.

The mixed 4x400m team will be made up of athletes selected from the women’s and men’s 4x400m squads.

“I am extremely excited by this team of athletes and would like to congratulate them all on their selection to Team GB for the Tokyo Olympic Games,” said Chef de Mission Mark England.

“There were some stellar performances at the British Championships in Manchester this weekend which will have undoubtedly give fans a glimpse of what they can expect to see when these athletes step out onto the world stage in Tokyo. Athletics is always such a spectacle at any Olympic Games and we know that this year will be no different.”

British team for Tokyo

100m: Dina Asher-Smith, Daryll Neita, Asha Philip
200m: Dina Asher-Smith, Beth Dobbin
400m: Ama Pipi, Jodie Williams, Nicole Yeargin
800m: Alexandra Bell, Keely Hodgkinson, Jemma Reekie
1500m: Laura Muir, Katie Snowden, Revee Walcott-Nolan
5000m: Jess Judd, Amy-Eloise Markovc, Eilish McColgan
10,000m: Jess Judd, Eilish McColgan
Marathon: Stephanie Davis, Jessica Piasecki, Steph Twell
3000m steeplechase: Elizabeth Bird, Aimee Pratt
100m hurdles: Tiffany Porter, Cindy Sember
400m hurdles: Meghan Beesley, Jessie Knight, Jessica Turner
High jump: Emily Borthwick, Morgan Lake
Pole vault: Holly Bradshaw
Long jump: Abigail Irozuru, Jazmin Sawyers, Lorraine Ugen
Shot put: Sophie McKinna
Heptathlon: Katarina Johnson-Thompson (subject to fitness)
4x100m: Dina Asher-Smith, Beth Dobbin, Imani-Lara Lansiquot, Daryll Neita, Ashleigh Nelson, Asha Philip
4x400m: Zoey Clark, Emily Diamond, Jessie Knight, Laviai Nielsen, Ama Pipi, Jessica Turner, Hannah Williams, Jodie Williams, Nicole Yeargin

100m: Zharnel Hughes, Reece Prescod, CJ Ujah
200m: Adam Gemili, Nethaneel Mitchell-Blake
800m: Oliver Dustin, Elliot Giles, Daniel Rowden
1500m: Jake Heyward, Josh Kerr, Jake Wightman
5000m: Andrew Butchart, Marc Scott
10,000m: Sam Atkin, Marc Scott
Marathon: Ben Connor, Callum Hawkins, Chris Thompson
20km race walk: Tom Bosworth, Callum Wilkinson
3000m steeplechase: Phil Norman, Zak Seddon
110m hurdles: David King, Andrew Pozzi
High jump: Tom Gale
Pole vault: Harry Coppell
Triple jump: Ben Williams
Shot put: Scott Lincoln
Discus: Lawrence Okoye
Hammer: Taylor Campbell, Nick Miller
4x100m: Jona Efoloko, Adam Gemili, Zharnel Hughes, Richard Kilty, Nethaneel Mitchell-Blake, Reece Prescod, CJ Ujah
4x400m: Niclas Baker, Cameron Chalmers, Matthew Hudson-Smith, Michael Ohioze, Lee Thompson