Press Release12 Nov 2019

Finalists announced for Female World Athlete of the Year 2019


The finalists for the Female World Athlete of the Year 2019 (© AFP / Getty Images)

With just 11 days to go until the World Athletics Awards 2019, the names of the five finalists for the Female World Athlete of the Year 2019 have been confirmed.

The five athletes, who represent five countries from four Area associations, have illustrated excellence across nearly all athletics disciplines in 2019.

The finalists are (in alphabetical order):

Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce (JAM)
- won world 100m and 4x100m titles in world-leading times of 10.71 and 41.44
- won Pan-American 200m title
- won seven of her 10 races at 100m

Sifan Hassan (NED)
- won world 1500m and 10,000m titles in world-leading times of 3:51.95 and 30:17.62
- won Diamond League 1500m and 5000m titles
- broke world mile record with 4:12.33 in Monaco

Brigid Kosgei (KEN)
- set a world record of 2:14:04 to win the Chicago Marathon
- won the London Marathon
- ran a world-leading 1:05:28 for the half marathon and 1:04:28 on a downhill course

Dalilah Muhammad (USA)
- broke world record with 52.20 at the US Championships
- improved her own world record to win the world 400m hurdles title in 52.16
- won world 4x400m title

Yulimar Rojas (VEN)
- won world triple jump title with 15.37m
- jumped world-leading 15.41m to move to second on the world all-time list
- won nine of her 12 competitions, including the Pan-American Games

Voting procedure for 2019 World Athletes of the Year

A three-way voting process determined the finalists.

The World Athletics Council and the World Athletics Family cast their votes by email, while fans voted online via our social media platforms. The Council’s vote counted for 50% of the result, while the Athletics Family’s votes and the public votes each counted for 25% of the final result.

Voting for the Female World Athlete of the Year closed on 5 November.

The male and female World Athletes of the Year will be announced live on stage at the World Athletics Awards 2019 in Monaco on Saturday 23 November.

World Athletics