News05 Jul 2024

Canada announces team for Olympic Games in Paris


Andre De Grasse wins the 200m title at the Tokyo Olympic Games (© Getty Images)

Olympic champions Andre De Grasse and Damian Warner are among the athletes named on the team to represent Canada at the Paris Olympic Games from 1-11 August.

De Grasse has been selected for the 100m, 200m and 4x100m, disciplines in which he has claimed six medals – including 200m gold in Tokyo – at the past two editions of the Olympic Games. Warner returns to defend the decathlon title he won with an Olympic record score of 9018 points, following his bronze medal win in Rio.

They will be joined by their fellow global gold medallists Marco Arop (800m), Ethan Katzberg (hammer), Pierce LePage (decathlon) and Camryn Rogers (hammer), who won at last year’s World Athletics Championships in Budapest, plus Sarah Mitton (shot put), who claimed a world indoor crown in Glasgow in March.

Between them, Canada’s team members have a combined 15 Olympic medals and 36 World Athletics Championships or World Athletics Relays medals. 

Alongside these established stars, the team features several athletes making their Olympic debuts in Paris, including sprinters Audrey Leduc and Christopher Morales Williams.

Further athletes may be added to the team following qualification through World Rankings.

Canadian team for Paris

100m: Audrey Leduc
200m: Audrey Leduc, Jacqueline Madogo
400m: Lauren Gale, Zoe Sherar
800m: Jazz Shukla
1500m: Lucia Stafford, Simone Plourde
5000m: Regan Yee
Marathon: Malindi Elmore
3000m steeplechase: Ceili McCabe, Regan Yee
100m hurdles: Mariam Abdul-Rashid, Michelle Harrison
400m hurdles: Savannah Sutherland
Pole vault: Alysha Newman, Anicka Newell
Shot put: Sarah Mitton
Hammer: Camryn Rogers
4x100m: Mariam Abdul-Rashid, Crystal Emmanuel-Ahye, Marie-Eloise Leclair, Audrey Leduc, Jacqueline Madogo, Sade McCreath
4x400m: Kyra Constantine, Lauren Gale, Jasneet Nijjar, Madeline Price, Zoe Sherar, Aiyanna Stiverne, Savannah Sutherland

100m: Duan Asemota, Aaron Brown, Andre De Grasse,
200m: Aaron Brown, Andre De Grasse, Brendon Rodney
400m: Christopher Morales Williams
800m: Marco Arop
1500m: Kieran Lumb, Charles Philibert-Thiboutot
5000m: Mohammed Ahmed, Thomas Fafard, Benjamin Flanagan
10,000m: Mohammed Ahmed
Marathon: Cameron Levins, Rory Linkletter
3000m steeplechase: Jean-Simon Desgagnes
20km race walk: Evan Dunfee
Hammer: Ethan Katzberg, Adam Keenan, Rowan Hamilton
Decathlon: Pierce LePage, Damian Warner
4x100m: Eliezer Adjibi, Duan Asemota, Jerome Blake, Aaron Brown, Andre De Grasse, Malachi Murray, Brendon Rodney

Marathon race walk mixed relay: Evan Dunfee, Olivia Lundman