News08 Jul 2024

Australia names 75-strong team for Paris Olympic Games


Nicola Olyslagers at the Tokyo Olympic Games (© Getty Images)

Australia’s three Olympic medallists from Tokyo – Nicola Olyslagers, Kelsey-Lee Barber and Ashley Moloney – are among the 75 athletes announced for the nation’s team for the Paris Games from 1-11 August.

Joining Barber in the women’s javelin will be world bronze medallist Mackenzie Little and Kathryn Mitchell, selected for her fourth Olympic Games. Olyslagers will contest the high jump alongside 2022 world champion Eleanor Patterson, while Moloney is confirmed for the decathlon.

World pole vault champion Nina Kennedy, world 20km race walk silver medallist Jemima Montag and world pole vault bronze medallist Kurtis Marschall are also on the team, as is Matthew Denny in the discus.

Jessica Hull, who improved the Oceanian 1500m record to 3:50.83 in Paris on Sunday to move to fifth on the world all-time list, will contest that event alongside her teammates Georgia Griffith and Linden Hall. Sprinter Torrie Lewis will make her Olympic debut in the 200m and 4x100m relay.

Australian team for Paris

100m: Ella Connolly, Bree Masters 
200m: Mia Gross, Torrie Lewis 
400m: Ellie Beer
800m: Catriona Bisset, Abbey Caldwell, Claudia Hollingsworth
1500m: Georgia Griffith, Linden Hall, Jessica Hull
5000m: Isobel Batt-Doyle, Rose Davies, Lauren Ryan
10,000m: Lauren Ryan
Marathon: Sinead Diver, Genevieve Gregson, Jessica Stenson
3000m steeplechase: Amy Cashin, Cara Feain-Ryan
100m hurdles: Liz Clay, Michelle Jenneke, Celeste Mucci
400m hurdles: Sarah Carli, Alanah Yukich
20km race walk: Rebecca Henderson, Jemima Montag, Olivia Sandery
High jump: Nicola Olyslagers, Eleanor Patterson
Pole vault: Nina Kennedy 
Long jump: Brooke Buschkuehl
Discus: Taryn Gollshewsky
Hammer: Stephanie Ratcliffe
Javelin: Kelsey-Lee Barber, Mackenzie Little, Kathryn Mitchell
Heptathlon: Camryn Newton-Smith, Tori West
4x100m: Ella Connolly, Kristie Edwards, Mia Gross, Ebony Lane, Torrie Lewis, Bree Masters, Aleksandra Stoilova

100m: Rohan Browning 
200m: Calab Law
400m: Reece Holder 
800m: Peter Bol, Peyton Craig, Joseph Deng
1500m: Oliver Hoare, Stewart McSweyn, Adam Spencer
5000m: Morgan McDonald, Stewart McSweyn
Marathon: Liam Adams, Brett Robinson, Patrick Tiernan
3000m steeplechase: Ben Buckingham, Matt Clarke
110m hurdles: Tayleb Willis
20km race walk: Rhydian Cowley, Kyle Swan, Declan Tingay
High jump: Joel Baden, Yual Reath, Brandon Starc
Pole vault: Kurtis Marschall 
Long jump: Liam Adcock, Christopher Mitrevski
Triple jump: Connor Murphy
Discus: Matthew Denny
Javelin: Cameron McEntyre
Decathlon: Daniel Golubovic, Ash Moloney
4x100m: Joshua Azzopardi, Rohan Browning, Jacob Despard, Lachlan Kennedy, Calab Law, Sebastian Sultana  

Marathon race walk mixed relay: Rhydian Cowley, Rebecca Henderson, Jemima Montag, Allanah Pitcher, Olivia Sandery, Kyle Swan, Declan Tingay