News03 Jul 2022

Asher-Smith and Johnson-Thompson feature on Britain’s team of 78 for Oregon


Dina Asher-Smith and Daryll Neita at the World Athletics Championships (© Getty Images)

A team of 78 has been selected to represent Great Britain and Northern Ireland at the World Athletics Championships Oregon22 from 15-24 July.

World champions Dina Asher-Smith and Katarina Johnson-Thompson have both been confirmed in the team, while Olympic silver medallists Keely Hodgkinson and Laura Muir will compete in the 800m and 1500m respectively.

Pole vaulter Holly Bradshaw and 1500m runner Josh Kerr, both of whom earned Olympic bronze in Tokyo last year, also feature on the team, so too does world 800m leader Max Burgin.

“We are taking a large team of 78 to Oregon with athletes competing across a number of disciplines which is really encouraging to see and is healthy for the sport overall,” said Olympic head coach Christian Malcolm. “I look forward to seeing how they all perform in America in a couple of weeks.”

British team for Oregon

100m: Dina Asher-Smith, Daryll Neita, Imani-Lara Lansiquot
200m: Dina Asher-Smith, Beth Dobbin
400m: Victoria Ohuruogu, Ama Pipi, Nicole Yeargin
800m: Ellie Baker, Alex Bell, Keely Hodgkinson, Jemma Reekie
1500m: Melissa Courtney-Bryant, Laura Muir, Katie Snowden
5000m: Jessica Judd, Amy-Eloise Markovc, Eilish McColgan
10,000m: Jessica Judd, Eilish McColgan
3000m steeplechase: Lizzie Bird, Aimee Pratt
100m hurdles: Cindy Sember
400m hurdles: Jessie Knight, Lina Nielsen
High jump: Emily Borthwick, Morgan Lake, Laura Zialor
Pole vault: Holly Bradshaw, Molly Caudery
Long jump: Jazmin Sawyers, Lorraine Ugen
Triple jump: Naomi Metzger
Shot put: Sophie McKinna, Amelia Strickler
Discus: Jade Lally
Heptathlon: Katarina Johnson-Thompson
4x100m: Dina Asher-Smith, Beth Dobbin, Imani-Lara Lansiquot, Daryll Neita, Ashleigh Nelson, Asha Philip, Bianca Williams
4x400m: Zoey Clark, Jessie Knight, Laviai Nielsen, Lina Nielsen, Victoria Ohuruogu, Ama Pipi, Nicole Yeargin
Marathon: Rose Harvey, Jess Piasecki, Charlotte Purdue

100m: Zharnel Hughes, Reece Prescod
200m: Joe Ferguson, Adam Gemili, Nethaneel Mitchell-Blake
400m: Alex Haydock-Wilson, Matthew Hudson-Smith
800m: Max Burgin, Kyle Langford, Daniel Rowden
1500m: Neil Gourley, Josh Kerr, Jake Wightman
5000m: Sam Atkin, Andrew Butchart, Marc Scott
10,000m: Patrick Dever
110m hurdles: David King, Andrew Pozzi, Josh Zeller
400m hurdles: Alastair Chalmers, Chris McAlister
High jump: Joel Clarke-Khan
Pole vault: Harry Coppell
Triple jump: Ben Williams
Shot put: Scott Lincoln
Discus: Lawrence Okoye, Nicholas Percy
Hammer: Nick Miller
4x100m: Harry Aikines-Aryeetey, Jeremiah Azu, Jona Efoloko, Adam Gemili, Zharnel Hughes, Reece Prescod, Nethaneel Mitchell-Blake
Marathon: Josh Griffiths, Chris Thompson

4x400m: Joe Brier, Zoey Clark, Lewis Davey, Alex Haydock-Wilson, Jessie Knight, Laviai Nielsen, Lina Nielsen, Victoria Ohuruogu, Ama Pipi, Nicole Yeargin