Seiko Countdown435d 18h 6m 47s
World Athletics Championships Oregon22

Press Release19 Dec 2018

2018 IAAF Race Walking Challenge standings revised


Qieyang Shijie in the women's 20km race walk at the IAAF World Race Walking Team ChampionshipsTaicang 2018 (© Getty Images)

Diego Garcia Carrera of Spain and South African Lebogang Shange have been confirmed as the overall winners of the men's 2018 IAAF Race Walking Challenge.

After the standings were revised to include the results from the African Championships in Asaba and the European Championships in Berlin, Carrera and Shange finished in a tie for the top spot in the men's standings with 27 points apiece. Spain's Julia Takacs, meanwhile, has been elevated to fifth place in the women's standings; the positions above her are unchanged.

The revised top five in the men's standings:

=1 Diego Garcia Carrera (ESP) 27
=1 Lebogang Shange (RSA) 27
3 Andres Chocho (ECU) 25
4 Eider Arevalo (COL) 24
5 Alvaro Martin (ESP) 21

Complete men's standings 

The revised top five in the women's standings:

1 Qieyang Shijie (CHN) 34
2 Erica de Sena (BRA) 23
3 Ines Henriques (POR) 22
4 Wang Yingliu (CHN) 18
5 Julia Takacs (ESP) 17

Complete women's standings

The scoring system takes each athlete’s three best marks from the series with points being awarded to the top 10 finishers in category A and B races and the top six finishers in category C races. Prize money is awarded to the top eight finishers at the end of the challenge. The athlete with the highest score wins US $25,000.