Countdown460d 6h 17m 8s
World Athletics Championships Oregon22

News06 Mar 2019

Kipchirchir and Frerichs lead US team for IAAF/Mikkeller World Cross Country Championships Aarhus 2019


Leonard Korir and Shadrack Kipchirchir in action at the IAAF World Cross Country Championships (© Roger Sedres)

National cross-country champion Shadrack Kipchirchir and world steeplechase silver medallist Courtney Frerichs lead the US team for the IAAF/Mikkeller World Cross Country Championships Aarhus 2019 on 30 March.

Six of the top seven finishers from last month’s US Cross Country Championships feature on the men’s team. Kipchirchir will be joined by 2018 US cross-country champion Leonard Korir, Hillary Bor, Stanley Kebenei, Emmanuel Bor and Mason Ferlic.

Kipchirchir, Korir and Kebenei were part of the US team for the 2017 World Cross Country Championships in Kampala, where they finished fifth in the senior men’s team standings, just six points shy of a medal.

Frerichs, the North American record-holder in the steeplechase, will be joined by three-time NCAA champion Karissa Schweizer, Marielle Hall, Stephanie Bruce, Anne-Marie Blaney and Sarah Pagano.

US team for Aarhus

Senior men: Emmanuel Bor, Hillary Bor, Mason Ferlic, Stanley Kebenei, Shadrack Kipchirchir, Leonard Korir

Senior women: Anne-Marie Blaney, Stephanie Bruce, Courtney Frerichs, Marielle Hall, Sarah Pagano, Karissa Schweizer

Mixed relay: Kirubel Erassa, Eleanor Fulton, Jordan Mann, Shannon Osika

U20 men: Shuaib Aljabaly, Mieka Beaudoin-Rousseau, Robert Cheeseman, Khalid Hussein, Gabriel Mudel, Charlie Perry

U20 women: Nicole Clermont, Heidi Nielson, Grace Ping, Riley Rigdon, Savannah Shaw, Kayla Smith