News21 May 2015

Pichardo vs Taylor rematch in Lausanne – IAAF Diamond League


Christian Taylor and Pedro Pablo Pichardo after their epic triple jump competition at the 2015 IAAF Diamond League meeting in Doha (© DECA Text & Bild)

The 40th edition of Lausanne’s famous Athletissima meeting on 9 July, an IAAF Diamond League meeting, will have a rematch between superstar triple jumpers Pedro Pablo Pichardo and Christian Taylor, the meeting organisers announced on Thursday (21).

The pair became just the fourth and fifth men in history to jump beyond 18 metres in a thrilling contest last Friday in Doha at the opening IAAF Diamond League meeting of 2015.

Cuba’s Pichardo triumphed with an IAAF Diamond League record of 18.06m with the USA's Olympic champion just two centimetres behind.

No other competition in history had previously seen more than one man go farther than 18 metres and the Lausanne meeting organisers are hoping that the Pontaise stadium will witness similar feats from the duo.

US sprinter Allyson Felix is another athlete who got her 2015 IAAF Diamond League campaign off to a stunning start in Doha, with a 21.98 200m which equalled the IAAF Diamond League record.

The three-time world 200m champion will contest the same event in Lausanne

Another Doha winner, world and European shot put champion David Storl, will also be in Lausanne. The German giant will be making his debut in the Swiss city.

Croatian discus thrower Sandra Perkovic, who set a stadium record with 68.96m two years ago, will be back and aiming for a second victory.

In the women’s high jump, Spain’s European champion Ruth Beitia will face Croatia’s two-time world champion Blanka Vlasic. Unlike Perkovic, neither woman has won in Lausanne before.

Organisers for the IAAF

2015 IAAF Diamond League calendar
Doha, QAT – 15 May
Shanghai, CHN – 17 May
Eugene, USA – 30 May
Rome, ITA – 4 June
Birmingham, GBR – 7 June
Oslo, NOR – 11 June
New York, USA – 13 June
Paris, FRA – 4 July
Lausanne, SUI – 9 July
Monaco, MON – 17 July
London, GBR – 24-25 July
Stockholm, SWE – 30 July
Zurich, SUI – 3 September
Brussels, BEL – 11 September