• World Athletics Partner
  • World Athletics Partner
  • World Athletics Partner
  • World Athletics Partner
  • World Athletics Media Partner
  • World Athletics Supplier
  • World Athletics Supplier
  • World Athletics Supplier

News15 Dec 2007

No stopping Kitwara this season – 5th AK Cross Country Meeting


Sammy Kitwara after his victory in Machakos (© Omulo Okoth)

 The body language clearly shows beating newcomer Sammy Kitwara on the Kenyan cross country scene this season could be a tall order.

As he elegantly, nay majestically, glided to victory in the fifth leg of the KCB/AK Cross Country weekend meeting in this upcountry western Kenyan town on Saturday (15), to chalk-up a fourth win in the 2007/08 series, there was little doubt what this police recruit would have much more to show if properly challenged.

He easily won the senior men's race, clocking 37:00, as runner-up, John Thuo, followed home in 37:05 and Joseph Kiptum in 37:12.

Paul Kipsiele Koech, 2004 Athens Olympics 3000m SC bronze and Abraham Cherono seemed happy to finish sixth (37:24) and ninth (37:41) respectively.

"Still no predictions about the National Cross or even at the World Cross. I will tackle it on theday," said the 20-year-old Kitwara.

Kitwara made light work of the natural obstacles that dot the Kisii Golf Club where the race was held under warm sunny morning. He led from the half way point to the finish.

Edwin Kipkorir won the junior men's race in 24:02 ahead of Kirui Cheruiyot, who was second in 24:06 and Josephat Bett, third in 24:10.

Homegirl Grace Momanyi won the senior women's race in 28:00 with Millicent Gathoni second in 28:24.

Mercy Cherono, who has already qualified for a share of the kenya shillings 200,000 Jackpot if she wins at the Nationals, was beaten into third place in the junior women's race. Jackline Chebii won in 21:05 with Kamene Muia second in 21:07. Cherono stopped her clock in 21:12.
Omulo Okoth - The Standard - for IAAF 


Senior Men's 12km
1. Sammy Kitwara 37:00
2. John Thuo 37:05
3. Joseph Kiptum 37:12
4. Jonathan Komen 37:12
5. Zablon Rotich 37:18

Junior Men's 8km
1. Edwin Kipkorir 24:06
2. Kirui Cheruiyot 24:06
3. Josephat Bett 24:10
4. Isaiah Ondieki 24:14
5. Paul Tanui 24:14

Senior Women's 8km
1. Grace Momanyi 28:00
2. Millicent Gathoni 28:24
3. Alice Mogire 28:40
4. Hellen Musembi 28:50
5. Viola Chepngeno 28:51

Junior Women's 6km
1. Jackline Chebii 21:05
2. Kamene Muia 21:07
3. Mercy Cherono 21:12
4. Joyce Chepkemoi 21:15
5. Viola Chepngeno 21:16

Pages related to this article