Countdown454d 5h 23m 3s
World Athletics Championships Oregon22

News11 Jul 2013

Monaco reveals its event-by-event stars – IAAF Diamond League


Mo Farah after winning the 5000m at the 2011 Monaco Diamond League (© Philippe Fitte)

The next IAAF Diamond League meeting, the Herculis 2013 in Monaco, will be held on Friday 19 July.

The 10th stage of the 2013 IAAF Diamond League will be the final confrontation for many of the best athletes in the world, just three weeks before the IAAF World Championships in Moscow next month.

Here the meeting organisers provide an-event-by-event guide to the action.

100m men: "Two very talented athletes are going to compete: London 2012 Olympic Games bronze medallist Justin Gatlin and our favourite French sprinter, the 2012 European champion Christophe Lemaitre." updated 16/07/13

800m men: “US runner Duane Solomon the world’s best performer this year with 1.43.27, France’s 2011 European junior champion Pierre Ambroise Bosse and Kenya’s London 2012 Olympic Games bronze medallist Timothy Kitum are the top runners this year”

1500m men: “A remarkable trio will be present on the 1500m start line. First of all, there is Kenya’s Asbel Kiprop, the 2011 World champion and currently the best performer in the world this year with 3.31.13, USA’s Leo Manzano, who finished second at the Olympic Games last year, and finally double Olympic champion at 5000m and 10,000m Mo Farah. The latter has not competed in a 1500m this year but seems to achieve a great performance every time he is in Monaco. In 2009, he ran the 1500m in 3:33.98 and in 2011 he established a national record over 5000m.”

5000m men: “USA’s Bernard Lagat, Ethiopia’s Kenenisa Bekele and Kenya’s Thomas Longosiwa will be present for 12.5 laps of pure entertainment. They will also try to beat the meeting record of 12.53.11.”

400 Hurdles men: “The podium from the London 2012 Olympic Games will honour us by running on our track. Two-time Olympic champion Felix Sanchez, this year’s best performer Michael Tinsley and Javier Culson.”

Pole Vault men: “Renaud Lavillenie (this year’s best outdoor performer with 5.95m) and his two Germans rivals Bjorn Otto and Rafael Holzdeppe are going to jump together. They finished first, second and third at both the 2012 European Championships and the London 2012 Olympics Games.”

Triple Jump men: “Current Olympic and World champion Christian Taylor, World indoor record-holder Teddy Tamgho and this year’s best performer Cuba’s Pedro Pichardo will all take part in Herculis 2013 Triple Jump.”

Javelin men: “Norway’s 2004 and 2008 Olympic champion Andreas Thorkildsen will be in Monaco this year, along with Czech Republic’s 2012 European champion Vitezslav Vesely and 2012 Olympic Games silver medallist Oleksander Pyatnytsya.”

200m women: "Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce remains undefeated this season with an outstanding time of 22.13 at the Jamaican Championships; it is the year’s best performance. She is going to race against Carmelita Jeter. What an explosive duo! However, we mustn’t forget athletes such as Myriam Soumare and France’s best female sprinter is in great shape.”

400m women: “Many track and field superstars are going to be in the 400m race the current World champion Amantle Monstho, holder of this year’s second best time in 49.87, Natasha Hastings and Novlene Williams-Mills.”

1500m women: “This year there will occur a sensational 1500m in Monaco, thanks to Jennifer Simpson’s participation, and Maryam Yusuf Jamal, who finished third at the Olympic Games last year. The race will be even more interesting with the presence of a very young and talented athlete, Faith Kipyegon, the holder of this year’s second best performance.”

100m Hurdles women: “Current Olympic and World champion Sally Pearson, 2012 Olympic champion in the Heptathlon Jessica Ennis, and Brianna Rollins are going to run in Monaco.”

High Jump women: “We have the honour of presenting you with three of the world’s top high jumpers. There is going to be the Olympic and World champion Anna Chicherova, 2013 US champion Brigetta Barrett and Croatia’s Blanka Vlasic.”

Long Jump women: “London 2012 Olympic Games bronze medallist Janay DeLoach will compete against Russia’s two-time European indoor champion Darya Klishina, who won at the World University Games this week, and French record-holder Eloyse Lesueur.”

Discus women: “Three of the best throwers in the world will be present in the Stade Louis II’s throwing circle, Cuba’s Yarelis Barrios, Germany’s 2011 World Championships silver medallist Nadine Müller and Croatia’s 2012 Olympic champion Sandra Perkovoc, who has been undefeated since Monaco in 2012.”

Organisers for the IAAF