News02 Oct 2012

Makau motivated by Mutai's fast Berlin run - Frankfurt announces elite field


Patrick Makau showing off his World record figures in Frankfurt (©

World record holder Patrick Makau and defending champion Mamitu Daska top the elite fields announced today by organisers of the BMW Frankfurt Marathon on 28 October.

On the men's side, the field is considered the best ever in the history of this IAAF Gold Label Road Race. Five runners with personal bests of 2:05:45 or better will be competing in Frankfurt with Makau looking forward to the challenge. After not being selected for the London Olympic Games the 27-year-old intends to make a statement with a very strong performance on the fast Frankfurt course where Kenyan Wilson Kipsang had established a 2:03:42 course record in 2011. That was just four seconds slower than Patrick Makau’s World record of 2:03:38, which he ran in Berlin.

Last Sunday Makau watched the Berlin Marathon, where fellow Kenyan Geoffrey Mutai attacked his World record but had to be content with a world leading time of 2:04:15.

"I followed the Marathon on TV – but I cannot comment on the race," Makau said. "I can only speak for myself: my training went well. And having seen the Berlin race this has motivated me for Frankfurt."

Makau will be eager to establish himself as the world’s fastest Marathon runner of the year, a position he has held the past two seasons. Targeting Mutai's 2:04:15 run may well turn out to become a World record chase if conditions are suitable. So far there are only five runners in history who have broken the men’s world Marathon record more than once.

A capacity field of around 15,000 runners is expected. Adding other running events a total of 25,000 athletes will compete.

Organisers for the IAAF

Men's Field:
Patrick Makau, KEN 2:03:38 (WR)
Yemane Tsegay, ETH 2:04:48
Albert Matebor, KEN 2:05:25
Bazu Worku, ETH 2:05:25
Deressa Chimsa, ETH 2:05:42
Gilbert Kirwa, KEN 2:06:14
Wilfred Kigen, KEN 2:07:33
Abraham Kiprotich, FRA 2:08:35
Daniel Limo, KEN 2:08:59
Peter Some, KEN 2:10:16
Peter Wanjiru, KEN 2:12:11
Mustafa Mohamed, SWE 2:12:28
Sören Kah, GER 2:14:25
Henrik Them, DEN 2:17:47
Victor Kipchirchir, KEN Debut
Derek Hawkins, GBR Debut
Tewelde Estifanos, ERI Debut
Pages related to this article