Seiko Countdown424d 14h 21m 26s
World Athletics Championships Oregon22

News27 Nov 2011

Course records fall in Beirut


Tariku Jufar winning in Beirut (© Emile Issa / Blom Beirut Marathon organisers)

Both the men’s and women’s event records tumbled at the ninth edition of the BLOM Beirut Marathon on Sunday.

Ethiopian Tariku Jufar clocked 2:11:14 to win the men’s title of this IAAF Bronze Label Road Race ahead of Kenyans Sammy Malakwen and James Rotich.

The women’s course record was also broken by the first three finishers: Ethiopian Seada Kedir with a time of 2:31:38, with second place going to her countrywoman Bizunesh Urgeza Mohammad with Syltan Pretot from France in third.

More than 32,000 runners from more than 80 countries participated in the full slate of events, which included the Marathon, and 10Km and 5Km fun runs. The Marathon course was modified this year to become more efficient, safe and interesting for runners. Edwin Moses, the legendary 400m hurdler and President of the Laureus Academy, fired the starter’s gun for the Marathon, and he also presented the women’s division awards. UNESCO Goodwill Ambassador Tegla Laroupe presented the men’s awards.

Organisers for the IAAF

Leading Results:


1. Tariku Jufar, Ethiopia 2:11:14

2. Sammy Malakwen, Kenya 2:11:31

3. James Rotich, Kenya  2:13:16

4. Stephen Chepkopol, Kenya 2:13:27

5. Mohammed Temam Husein, Ethiopia 2:13:37

6. Loritenyang Pkumun Meke, Kenya 2:13:55

7. Larbi Es-Sraidi, France 2:14:42

8. Solomon Molla, Ethiopia 2:17:37

9. Julius Kilimo, Kenya 2:18:17

10. Housein Awada, Lebanon 2:25:06


1. Seada Kedir, Ethiopia 2:31:38

2. Bizunesh Urgeza Mohammad, Ethiopia  2:32:52

3. Syltan Pretot, France 2:33:07

4. Diana Lobacevske, Lithuania 2:34:16

5. Sisay Measso Arsedi, Ethiopia 2:36:22

6. Etaferahu Tarekegn Getahu, Ethiopia 2:38:47

7. Nesrine Njeim Leene, Lebanon 3:09:09

Pages related to this article