News18 Feb 2014

Britain to send 35 athletes to Sopot – IAAF World Indoor Championships


Christine Ohuruogu in action in the 4x400m at the IAAF World Indoor Championships (© Getty Images)

A 35-strong team has been named to represent Great Britain and Northern Ireland at the IAAF World Indoor Championships in Sopot, Poland, on 7-9 March.

The team features 11 medallists from past editions of the World Indoor Championships, including Andrew Osagie, bronze medallist in the 800m two years ago in Istanbul, 2012 60m hurdles silver medallist Tiffany Porter, reigning world indoor long jump bronze medallist Shara Proctor and 2010 world indoor 60m champion Dwain Chambers.

World 400m champion Christine Ohuruogu will also defend the 4x400m title she won in Istanbul in 2012.

World 800m leader Laura Muir is another of Britain’s medal contenders, along with with pole vaulters Holly Bleasdale and Luke Cutts. Bleasdale is the European indoor champion, while Cutts currently lies second on this year’s world indoor season list behind world record-holder Renaud Lavillenie, who will not be in Sopot.

Asha Philip, also second ranked in the world, goes in the 60m while 19-year-old rising sprint star Sophie Papps will make her British senior debut in the same event.

The British record-holder in the high jump Katarina Johnson-Thompson has accepted selection for the long jump, following confirmation that that she has not secured a wildcard invite from the IAAF for the pentathlon.

Following on from James Dasaolu’s injury last weekend, Richard Kilty has been selected for the 60m alongside Chambers, while Nigel Levine will compete in the 400m.

There are also major championship comebacks to the British team for former Olympic decathlete Daniel Awde as part of the men’s 4x400m squad, Jemma Simpson in the 1500m, Andy Pozzi in the 60m hurdles and Tom Parsons in the high jump.

“This is a relatively young team with a number of new faces taking individual places which is encouraging as we focus on long term development towards 2016 and 2017,” said British Athletics performance director Neil Black.

“Where there were any close decisions, we have prioritised the British Championships results and it is good to see athletes and their coaches who have made significant breakthroughs in the last year are maintaining those results.”

British Athletics for the IAAF

British team for Sopot

Dwain Chambers, Richard Kilty
400m: Richard Buck, Nigel Levine
800m: Mukhtar Mohammed, Andrew Osagie
1500m: Lee Emanuel, Chris O’Hare
3000m: Andy Vernon, Jonathan Mellor
60m hurdles: Andrew Pozzi, William Sharman
4x400m: Daniel Awde, Michael Bingham, Jamie Bowie, Buck, Luke Lennon-Ford, Levine, Conrad Williams
High jump: Robbie Grabarz, Tom Parsons
Pole vault: Luke Cutts

Sophie Papps, Asha Philip
400m: Margaret Adeoye, Shana Cox
800m: Laura Muir
1500m: Jemma Simpson
3000m: Eilish McColgan
4x400m: Adeoye, Eilidh Child, Cox, Christine Ohuruogu, Victoria Ohuruogu, Laura Wake
60m hurdles: Tiffany Porter
Pole vault: Holly Bleasdale
Long jump: Katarina Johnson-Thompson, Shara Proctor