



Edition 176 | 30 September 2016









# Looking forward to who will be crowned the world athletes of the year

Dozens of new champions were crowned at the Rio 2016 Olympic Games, while the top performers in the IAAF Diamond League have all been awarded trophies. The IAAF World Challenge, IAAF Combined Events Challenge, IAAF Hammer Throw Challenge and IAAF Race Walking Challenge have also all reached their climax.

At the end of another spectacular season of athletics, the only accolades left to decide are the IAAF World Athletes of the Year.

The voting process be revealed in the coming weeks and the announcement of the winners will take place live on stage during a special ceremony in Monaco at the IAAF Awards Night on 2 December.

#### **IAAF HQ HEADLINE NEWS**



#### TIME FOR CHANGE

As part of the IAAF's governance structure reform process, IAAF President Sebastian Coe and the Working Group on Governance Structure Reform (WGGSR) will embark upon a global roadshow throughout October and November.

Coe and the WGGSR will meet with member federations in each of the six areas to talk through the 'Time For Change' document, which explains in full the reform proposals, why they are important, how they fit with the IAAF's overall vision, and the associated opportunities and benefits for the sport.

The roadshows will be focused on ensuring that there is a comprehensive understanding of the reform proposals ahead of the Special Congress on 3 December.

**Full story** 

#### **OTHER NEWS**

- IAAF President Sebastian Coe attends Balkan Congress in Tel Aviv
- NACAC considers more area permit meetings for the region
- 1st Official Bulletin IAAF World Championships London 2017
- One year to go to IAAF World Championships London 2017
- Bubka re-elected to IOC Executive Board
- IAAF Ethics Board provisionally suspends Michael Rotich
- IAAF Scoring Tables for Combined Events reprinted and available again
- Kazmirek and Schafer win 2016 IAAF Combined Events Challenge
- Wang and Gonzalez win 2016 IAAF Race Walking Challenge
- Fajdek and Wlodarczyk win 2016 IAAF Hammer Throw Challenge

# **FEATURED NEWS**



### Rio's remarkable record week

The 206th IAAF Council Meeting, held on 20 August, was chaired by IAAF President Sebastian Coe, who summed up a week of outstanding performances in the Olympic Stadium and on the roads of Rio de Janeiro.



# More than one million tickets applied for at IAAF World Championships London 2017

1,047,000 tickets have been applied for at the IAAF World Championships London 2017 with five of 14 sessions oversubscribed across all four price categories.



#### **IAAF** announces new Chief Executive Officer

The IAAF today announced the appointment of new CEO, Olivier Gers, following a six-month search which attracted more than 200 potential candidates from around the globe in sport, business and entertainment.

## Governance reform the focus of IAAF Council Meeting in Rio

The main focus of the 205th IAAF Council Meeting, held at the Caesar Park Hotel Ipanema, was IAAF Governance Structure Reform, the key proposals to create an effective organisation with the checks and balances and transparent structures required.

# FOR THE RECORD

#### ATHLETES SANCTIONED FOR A DOPING OFFENCE

An up-to-date list can be downloaded here.

#### NEW MEMBER FEDERATION OFFICERS - RECENT ELECTIONS / APPOINTMENTS

An up-to-date list can be downloaded here.

#### **WORLD RECORDS RATIFIED**



#### Women's U20 javelin

63.86m Yulenmis Aguilar (CUB) Edmonton 2 Aug 2015 Previous: 63.01m Vera Rebryk (UKR) Bydgoszcz 10 Jul 2008

#### Women's U20 pole vault / women's U20 indoor pole vault

4.65m (i) and 4.71m (i) Wilma Murto (FIN) Zweibrucken 31 Jan 2016 Previous: 4.64m Eliza McCartney (NZL) 19 Dec 2015



1:27:13\* Stanley Biwott (KEN) and Eliud Kipchoge (KEN) London 24 Apr 2016 (en route to marathon) Previous: 1:27:37 Emmanuel Mutai (KEN) Berlin 28 Sep 2014

# Women's 100m hurdles

12.20 (0.3m/s) Kendra Harrison (USA) London 22 Jul 2016
Previous: 12.21 (0.7m/s) Yordanka Donkova (BUL) Stara Zagora 20 Aug 1988

#### Men's U20 javelin

86.48m Neeraj Chopra (IND) Bydgoszcz 23 Jul 2016 Previous: 84.69m Zigismunds Sirmais (LAT) Bauska 22 Jun 2011

#### Women's 10,000m

29:17.45 Almaz Ayana (ETH) Rio de Janeiro 12 Aug 2016 *Previous: 29:31.78 Wang Junxia (CHN) Beijing 8 Sep 1993* 





# Men's 400m

43.03 Wayde van Niekerk (RSA) Rio de Janeiro 14 Aug 2016 Previous: 43.18 Michael Johnson (USA) Seville 26 Aug 1999

# Women's hammer

82.29m Anita Wlodarczyk (POL) Rio de Janeiro 15 Aug 2016 Previous: 81.08m Anita Wlodarczyk (POL) Cetniewo 1 Aug 2015

To contribute to the IAAF website or newsletter, please contact editor@iaaf.org

OFFICIAL IAAF PARTNERS











