News31 Jul 2013

Race walkers feature prominently on Chinese team for Moscow


Chinese race walker Si Tianfeng in action at the 2011 World Championships (© Getty Images)

All five of China’s reigning global medallists in race walking events have been named on the team for the 2013 IAAF World Championships in Moscow.

Olympic 20km Race Walk champion Chen Ding will contest his specialist event alongside Olympic bronze medallist Wang Zhen and Olympic fourth-place finisher Cai Zelin.

Si Tianfeng, the Olympic bronze medallist, will compete in the 50km Race Walk with the two men who finished ahead of him at the Race Walking National Games: Wu Qianlong and Li Jianbo.

Liu Hong, who took silver in Daegu two years ago, leads the Chinese women in the 20km Race Walk while Olympic bronze medallist Qieyang Shenjie has also been named in the event.

There are several other medal hopes on the team of 53 athletes. Li Jinzhe, the long jumper who won at the Shanghai Diamond League meeting, goes to Moscow ranked fourth on this year’s world season lists.

High jumper Wang Yu smashed his PB with 2.33m to win at the Beijing World Challenge meeting before taking bronze at the World University Games.

Shot putter Gong Lijiao, who currently sits at fourth place on this year’s world season list, is no stranger to the podium at major championships, having won bronze medals at the 2012 Olympic Games and 2009 World Championships.

Zhang Peimeng broke the Chinese 100m record earlier this year with 10.04 to qualify for Moscow. He is joined on the team by the athlete whose record he broke, Su Bingtian, and the pair will expect to feature in the 4x100m final.

Zhang Wenxiu, bronze medallist in the Hammer two years ago, is once again on the Chinese team. But 2011 World champion Li Yanfeng and 2011 silver medallist Liu Xiang will not be in Moscow.



100m: Su Bingtian, Zhang Peimeng
200m: Xie Zhenye
Marathon: Yin Shujin
110m Hurdles: Jiang Fan, Xie Wenjun
High Jump: Bi Xiaoliang, Wang Yu, Zhang Guowei
Pole Vault: Xue Changrui, Yang Yansheng, Zhang Wei
Long Jump: Li Jinzhe, Wang Jianan
Triple Jump: Cao Shuo, Dong Bin
Javelin: Zhao Qinggang
20km Race Walk: Cai Zelin, Chen Ding, Wang Zhen
50km Race Walk: Li Jianbo, Si Tianfeng, Wu Qianlong
4x100m Relay: Guo Fan, Liang Jiahong, Su, Xie, Zhang

400m: Zhao Yanmin
800m: Wang Chunyu
100m Hurdles: Wu Shujiao
Marathon: Cao Mojie, Ding Changqin, He Yinli, Jia Chaofeng, Wei Xiaojie
High Jump: Zheng Xingjuan
Pole Vault: Li Ling
Shot Put: Gong Lijiao, Li Ling, Liu Xiangrong
Discus: Gu Siyu, Su Xinyue, Tan Jian
Hammer: Liu Tingting, Wang Zheng, Zhang Wenxiu
Javelin: Li Lingwei, Zhang Li
20km Race Walk: Li Yanfei, Liu Hong, Qieyang Shenjie, Sun Huanhuan
4x100m Relay: Li Meijuan, Liang Xiaojing, Tao Yujia, Wei Yongli