• World Athletics Partner
  • World Athletics Partner
  • World Athletics Partner
  • World Athletics Partner
  • World Athletics Media Partner
  • World Athletics Supplier
  • World Athletics Supplier

News07 Jul 2021

USA announces team of 130 for Tokyo Olympics


Sydney McLaughlin in action at the Rio 2016 Olympic Games (© Getty Images)

World outdoor record-holders Sydney McLaughlin, Ryan Crouser and Keni Harrison are among the 130 athletes named on the team to represent the United States at the Tokyo Olympic Games.

The squad includes 13 medallists from the 2016 Games in Rio and six defending world champions from Doha. Experienced headliners include five-time Olympians Allyson Felix in the 400m and Abdi Abdirahman in the marathon, while the youngest athlete on the team is 17-year-old Erriyon Knighton, who twice broke the world U20 200m record last month at the US Olympic Trials.

JuVaughn Harrison won both the long jump and high jump at the Trials in Eugene and he will be among the athletes contesting two events in Tokyo as he has been selected for both disciplines.

Other athletes announced on the team include world indoor 60m hurdles record-holder Grant Holloway, who was just 0.01 shy of breaking Aries Merritt’s world 110m hurdles record of 12.80 in Eugene, plus former world 400m hurdles record-holder Dalilah Muhammad, the second-fastest ever 200m sprinter Gabby Thomas and multiple global long jump gold medallist Brittney Reese.

USA team for Tokyo 

100m: Teahna Daniels, Javianne Oliver, Jenna Prandini
200m: Anavia  Battle, Jenna Prandini, Gabby Thomas
400m: Allyson Felix, Quanera Hayes, Wadeline Jonathas
800m: Athing Mu, Raevyn Rogers, Ajee' Wilson
1500m: Heather MacLean, Cory McGee, Elle Purrier
5000m: Elise Cranny, Rachel Schneider, Karissa Schweizer
10,000m: Alicia Monson, Karissa Schweizer, Emily Sisson
Marathon: Sally Kipyego, Molly Seidel, Aliphine Tuliamuk
3000m steeplechase: Emma Coburn, Val Constien, Courtney Frerichs
100m hurdles: Christina Clemons, Gabbi Cunningham, Keni Harrison
400m hurdles: Anna Cockrell, Sydney McLaughlin, Dalilah Muhammad
20km race walk: Robyn Stevens
High jump: Tynita Butts-Townsend, Vashti Cunningham, Rachel McCoy
Pole vault: Morgann LeLeux, Katie Nageotte, Sandi Morris
Long jump: Quanesha Burks, Tara Davis, Brittney Reese
Triple jump: Tori Franklin, Jasmine Moore, Keturah Orji
Shot put: Adelaide Aquilla, Jessica Ramsey, Raven Saunders
Discus: Valarie Allman, Kelsey Card, Rachel Dincoff
Hammer: Brooke Andersen, Gwen Berry, DeAnna Price
Javelin: Ariana Ince, Maggie Malone, Kara Winger
Heptathlon: Erica Bougard, Annie Kunz, Kendell Williams
4x100m: English Gardner, Aleia Hobbs, Gabby Thomas (plus others selected in individual events)
4x400m: Kendall Ellis, Lynna Irby, Kaylin Whitney (plus others selected in individual events)

Ronnie Baker, Trayvon Bromell, Fred Kerley
200m: Kenny Bednarek, Erriyon Knighton, Noah Lyles
400m: Michael Cherry, Michael Norman, Randolph Ross
800m: Bryce Hoppel, Isaiah Jewett, Clayton Murphy
1500m: Matthew Centrowitz, Cole Hocker, Yared Nuguse
5000m: Paul Chelimo, Grant Fisher, Woody Kincaid
10,000m: Grant Fisher, Woody Kincaid, Joe Klecker
Marathon: Abdi Abdirahman, Jake Riley, Galen Rupp
3000m steeplechase: Hillary Bor, Mason Ferlic, Benard Keter
110m hurdles: Devon Allen, Grant Holloway, Daniel Roberts
400m hurdles: Rai Benjamin, David Kendziera, Kenny Selmon
20km race walk: Nick Christie
High jump: JuVaughn Harrison, Shelby McEwen, Darryl Sullivan
Pole vault: Sam Kendricks, KC Lightfoot, Chris Nilsen
Long jump: Marquis Dendy, JuVaughn Harrison, Steffin McCarter
Triple jump: Chris Benard, Will Claye, Donald Scott
Shot put: Ryan Crouser, Joe Kovacs, Payton Otterdahl
Discus: Mason Finley, Reggie Jagers, Sam Mattis
Hammer: Daniel Haugh, Rudy Winkler, Alex Young
Javelin: Michael Shuey, Curtis Thompson
Decathlon: Steven Bastien, Garrett Scantling, Zach Ziemek
4x100m: Kenny Bednarek, Cravon Gillespie, Micah Williams (plus others selected in individual events)
4x400m: Elija Godwin, Vernon Norwood, Trevor Stewart (plus others selected in individual events)

4x400m: Shae Anderson, Bryce Deadmon, Wil London, Taylor Manson (plus others selected in individual events)