Christian Taylor at the 2016 IAAF Diamond League meeting in Doha (Hasse Sjogren) © Copyright
General News Stockholm, Sweden

New triple jump guard challenges global champions in Stockholm – IAAF Diamond League

Christian Taylor, Teddy Tamgho and Nelson Evora will compete at the Bauhaus-Galan on 16 June and will face five rising triple jump talents at the IAAF Diamond League meeting in Stockholm.

Taylor has dominated the event in recent years. He won the Olympic crown in 2012 and last summer he posted the second longest triple jump ever, 18.21m, to win the world title in Beijing. During the past 12 months, the US jumper has achieved four 18-metre jumps and nine straight victories.

Tamgho set his first world indoor record in 2010 and then improved it one year later with 17.92m. The Frenchman joined the exclusive 18-metre club when he won the 2013 world title, setting a national record of 18.04m.

Evora claimed gold at the 2007 IAAF World Championships and 2008 Olympic Games. After years of injury troubles, the Portuguese jumper produced his best jump for six years to take the bronze medal at last year’s IAAF World Championships.

The trio of global champions will face five men who have jumped beyond 17 metres this year.

USA’s three-time NCAA champion Omar Craddock finished just outside the podium at last year’s IAAF World Championships and fifth at this year’s IAAF World Indoor Championships. He set his PB of 17.53m when winning the US title last year.

He will be joined in Stockholm by compatriots Chris Benard and Chris Carter as well as Guyana’s Troy Doris and Harold Correa of France.

“It’s a top quality field,” Sweden's 2004 Olympic champion Christian Olsson said about the event which includes two of his successors to the Olympic throne. “It will certainly be one of the most exciting events to follow at Bauhaus-Galan.”

Organisers for the IAAF

2016 IAAF Diamond League calendar
6 May – Doha, QAT
14 May – Shanghai, CHN
22 May – Rabat, MAR
28 May – Eugene, USA
2 Jun – Rome, ITA
5 Jun – Birmingham, GBR
9 Jun – Oslo, NOR
16 Jun – Stockholm, SWE
15 Jul – Monaco, MON
22-23 Jul – London, GBR
25 Aug – Lausanne, SUI
27 Aug – Paris, FRA
1 Sep – Zurich, SUI
9 Sep – Brussels, BEL